We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, very charming little riad style.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musee Tiskiwin

Musee Tiskiwin
8 Rue de la Bahia | Riads Zitoun, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 24 38 91 92
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Musee Tiskiwin like an insider
Top Rated
$20*
and up
Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour
Ranked #28 of 141 things to do in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: At this small, well organized, and informative museum, you’ll get the chance to learn about the history of Marrakech and the region in general. Stocked with artifacts from past centuries and other quality exhibits, you’ll leave feeling satisfied with your time spent there.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“quiet, very charming little riad style.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We are very lucky, this house is 2minutes walk from where we stayed. Quieter in the morning and you pay 20dh to go in. We did not learn very much about the history but I just liked to taking photos inside and enjoy the architecture. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    71
    24
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Interesting and serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were staying right around the corner from the Dar Si Said so decided to pop in. Such a great find! It's 10 dirhams to enter. The hours on the door are a bit funny- we came when it was supposed to be open, but the door was shut. We wandered around a bit, then returned- door still shut so we knocked and it was unlocked and we were welcomed in. The elderly gentleman who runs the museum (I who the collection belongs to) speaks good English/French. Such a sweet man- we loved him. He was so happy to explain how the museum operated.

The collection is varied and interesting. We were actually the only people there for our entire visit- I suppose because the door was shut! I loved the artifacts and the information book that was given to us- very informative. Takes a while to read, but I learnt quite a lot in the process. A great place to come in the heat of the afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very sweet little gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It's one street away from Riad Hayati and you can just duck in for a quick visit anytime. Small though it may be it has a very valuable colelction of textiles and crafts from all over Africa.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great collection with good explanations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I really appreciated the very detailed explanations of all the objects on display, as well as the organization of the museum into rooms as a tour to Timbuktu. I probably learned more here than I did anywhere else in Marrakech.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

All the guidebooks rave about this place, but the accompanying text with the exhibits is incomprehensible, and doesn't provide much context. Try the Berber museum in the Jardin Majorelle instead.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Tiskiwin also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Musee Tiskiwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee Tiskiwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.