We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westernized North-African City!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gueliz

Gueliz
La Ville Nouvelle, Marrakech, Morocco
Update attraction details
Ranked #58 of 84 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Neighborhoods, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Attraction Details
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Westernized North-African City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Morocco is two extremes. I learned and saw that the bigger developed cities are sectioned off with old and new quarters separated by castle-like walls into parts: traditional old world (medinas) and new (“nouvelle villes”) cities that boasts modern day lifestyle.

Nouvelle villes are the French built section of the cities and tend to have a more westernized aesthetic (some say colonialized appeal). The architecture is quite impressive. The Moorish arc is the country's emblem. There are huge gates/walls with the arc that usually separates the old and new cities. Once you see that arc, it's a sign that you're entering/leaving the medina.

Gueliz is a very prominent and modern neighborhood. Complete with all the plush amenities (a la cyber cafe and high end establishments) and westernized influences (McDonalds, Pizza Hut, KFC, Zara, etc.). It's well worth a visit to see the stark contrasts between one of Morocco's oldest cities and 'new' neighborhood.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    33
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“everything you need is in gueliz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

gueliz is full of small shops, restuarants and cafes and a lovely place to use as your base whilst staying in marrakech. everything is in walking distance with a good mix of nationalities. it is slightly more expensive but it is a good area and safe.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food & Shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Many food outlets including Pizza Hut and McDonalds. A lot of modern, designer shops. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hellish traffic, modern, few highlights”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We took Mohammed V from the medina and walked its length. On the wh we had to cross several Seth defying junctions and roundabouts. Top top: cross with a Morrocan or get run over!
We had food at several restaurants during the day and was disappointed all the way. We read in our guide tht there are a few interesting shops which we hoped to find. Even with 2 maps we didn't find them, we asked the bus your diver and a hotel concierge nd still failed miserably! 1 day out of our short break spent breathing exhaust fumes and passing by shops like Zara and even a Macdonalds! If you want real Marrakech this is a waste of time, an unattractive metroplois of hotels.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“The heart of the new town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

The Marrakech Plaza is the centre of Gueliz with it's up-market shops and cafes and beautiful fountains. The Marche Central just behind the plaza is where all the ex-pats go for exotic (for Morocco) fruit and veg, amazingly cheap horse meat at the butchers, Oscar the pork specialist and easy access to wine, beer and spirits without having to go to the supermarket.

Gueliz is where you find the real designer shops, great international cafes and restaurants, parks and just a completely different feel to Marrakech. When (if) the medina overwhelms you head for Gueliz for the day and you will gain the strength to head back into the medina knowing this haven is there when you need it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gueliz also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Gueliz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gueliz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Gueliz to your Saves list