We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insignificant when compared to Jardin Majorelle” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Menara Gardens and Pavilion

Menara Gardens and Pavilion
Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech, Morocco
(+212) 524426887
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #81 of 90 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Gardens, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Attraction Details
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Insignificant when compared to Jardin Majorelle”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a public garden (Menara) which has a large lake with an impressive number of hungry carp in, and a vast olive grove. The lake is muddy, filled with water from the mountains apparently... The olive grove is a rutted mud track... If you don't have time to come here you haven't missed too much! See Jardin Majorelle instead

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    33
    56
    50
    38
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Don't bother! It's an overgrown olive orchard with a muddy water storage pool in the middle. The pavilion is ugly and faces the remnants of the staging for a now disused son et lumiere show. Why anyone would want to take tourists here I will never know!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don not even think of going .”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

It is bad , bad , bad. I can not believe that I did it. We took a taxi to this so called Manarat to find out that it is a place where locals go for picnics under the trees.. Wa wi ...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My partner was very excited about this place, so we decided to go there in the morning before the weather gets too hot. When we got there it was terrible, it looks like the place has been destroyed by a war, but funny enough when we took some pictures, they look quite good, but don't waste your time if your are only few days in Marrakech.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Seriously? This is a tourist attraction?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Don't waste your time on going out of your way to this sad excuse of a tourist attraction. Any photos I had seen of this place prior to visiting had made it appear to be beautiful gardens that needed to be seen. Sadly the reality is a filthy stretch of water surrounded by crumbling concrete. It appears that this place has just been allowed to slip into ruin. Trust me your hotel pool will be much more impressive than this.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menara Gardens and Pavilion also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Menara Gardens and Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menara Gardens and Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.