We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abandoned, creepy and strange” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Menara Gardens and Pavilion

Menara Gardens and Pavilion
Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech, Morocco
(+212) 524426887
Improve this listing
Visit Menara Gardens and Pavilion like an insider
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Marrakech Botanical Tour
Ranked #103 of 140 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Abandoned, creepy and strange”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

When you google, "running in Marrakech" one site pops up (after some sifting of course). This site recommends that a good place to run, and find other exercisers is in Menara gardens. "It has a beautiful path, trees and water..."

We tried to get there early to beat the heat, fully expecting "gardens." When we got there we were greeted by concrete, much like the rest of Marrakech. What a weird place! We walked through the entrance to see the "lake" that was a big concrete rectangle, surrounded by abandoned stadium seating- what in the world is the purpose of those? The sun is hot, and there is no shade to be had. We wandered around the abandoned buildings trying to figure out the appeal and purpose of this place We walked through the trees, there are many paths, and were were virtually the only people wondering through this part of the gardens. The whole thing felt weird. As we made our way around the gardens, we questioned over and over what this place was for.

We occasionally saw others walking, but weren't sure if they were just passing through or if this was an enjoyable experience for them.

We walked around the whole gardens and then made our way back to the Medina, overall unimpressed with this place. I am not sure this is worth the visit, unless you want to be hot, confused and unimpressed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    66
    99
    91
    64
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
493 reviews 493 reviews
172 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Not what you think”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is always a stunning picture in the travel books and holiday brochures but the reality is its a dump. Every goes there and then asks why ???

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“worst place in all of marrakech”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a pile of garbage it is basically a dirty swimming pool. How it is a must see in marrakech is beyond me. I would not waste your time at this place. The train station is better than this place

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Go for the people, not so much the gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our wonderful riad host suggested that these gardens would be best to watch the sunset and immerse yourself with the local families that love the gardens. Considering he was right about all the other suggestions he made, I have to believe he was right about this too. Instead we visited early in the afternoon, and the experience was just okay.

Couple of ways to maximize the experience beyond that:

- Understand that "gardens" doesn't mean here what it means in a lot of other places. Beyond small patches of flowers near the pavilion, the gardens are mostly endless fields of trees. Even then there's not a variety of trees.

- Take some kind of transportation there. You can walk there from the medina. We did. It's a long walk though, especially if the sun is as vengeful and angry as it was then. Fair or not, the journey has an influence on how you perceive the destination. We might have been slightly less disappointed after a short taxi ride rather than a long walk. The walk itself isn't all that exciting either.

Even in the early afternoon there were already a decent amount of people there, most clearly locals. I can actually see the appeal to a certain extent - it's very quiet, surrounded by the trees and far away from the hectic city. I'm not sorry we went, but there are several other sites I'd prioritize in Marrakech ahead of it.

Practical info:

- Entry to the gardens is free, but there is a small admission (equivalent of a couple of dollars if I recall correctly) to get into the pavilion.

- There are bathroom facilities next to what appears to be a small cafe below and behind the bleachers on the opposite side of the pool from the pavilion. At about 2PM however the cafe was closed and the bathrooms were locked.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Leonards-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing except for the calligraphist”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A long conrete drive leading to a large concrete pool with a pavilion. Pool was dirty but filled with koi. Lots of olive groves and a small restaurant (closed when we were there).

NO TOILETS.

We saw a calligraphist, making cards with messages in Arabic. The pleasant change was that his work was priced. No haggling; just 5Dh for a written card or 25Dh for a framed version. A nice souvenir and the one saving grace for the gardens.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menara Gardens and Pavilion also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Menara Gardens and Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menara Gardens and Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.