We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst place in all of marrakech” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Menara Gardens and Pavilion

Menara Gardens and Pavilion
Avenue de la Menara, Marrakech, Morocco
(+212) 524426887
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Marrakech Botanical Tour
Ranked #92 of 137 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“worst place in all of marrakech”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a pile of garbage it is basically a dirty swimming pool. How it is a must see in marrakech is beyond me. I would not waste your time at this place. The train station is better than this place

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    79
    117
    110
    74
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Go for the people, not so much the gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our wonderful riad host suggested that these gardens would be best to watch the sunset and immerse yourself with the local families that love the gardens. Considering he was right about all the other suggestions he made, I have to believe he was right about this too. Instead we visited early in the afternoon, and the experience was just okay.

Couple of ways to maximize the experience beyond that:

- Understand that "gardens" doesn't mean here what it means in a lot of other places. Beyond small patches of flowers near the pavilion, the gardens are mostly endless fields of trees. Even then there's not a variety of trees.

- Take some kind of transportation there. You can walk there from the medina. We did. It's a long walk though, especially if the sun is as vengeful and angry as it was then. Fair or not, the journey has an influence on how you perceive the destination. We might have been slightly less disappointed after a short taxi ride rather than a long walk. The walk itself isn't all that exciting either.

Even in the early afternoon there were already a decent amount of people there, most clearly locals. I can actually see the appeal to a certain extent - it's very quiet, surrounded by the trees and far away from the hectic city. I'm not sorry we went, but there are several other sites I'd prioritize in Marrakech ahead of it.

Practical info:

- Entry to the gardens is free, but there is a small admission (equivalent of a couple of dollars if I recall correctly) to get into the pavilion.

- There are bathroom facilities next to what appears to be a small cafe below and behind the bleachers on the opposite side of the pool from the pavilion. At about 2PM however the cafe was closed and the bathrooms were locked.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Leonards-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing except for the calligraphist”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A long conrete drive leading to a large concrete pool with a pavilion. Pool was dirty but filled with koi. Lots of olive groves and a small restaurant (closed when we were there).

NO TOILETS.

We saw a calligraphist, making cards with messages in Arabic. The pleasant change was that his work was priced. No haggling; just 5Dh for a written card or 25Dh for a framed version. A nice souvenir and the one saving grace for the gardens.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What a dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

nothing of any interest here what so ever . just stray dogs, and a reservoir no where to eat or drink. scroungers here for money . lines of trees but absolute rubbish DO NOT GO HERE.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nothing to see”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It was nice to go for a walk but the Menara gardens were just lines of olive trees. Perhaps we lost our way but it wasn't very interesting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menara Gardens and Pavilion also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Menara Gardens and Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menara Gardens and Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.