We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Ramparts

Marrakech Ramparts
Marrakesh medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 141 things to do in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: These are the walls that surround the city. Circle them on foot or on a rented bike.
Arlington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It is the wall that surrounds the Medina, which is the old city. Their are beautiful gates, scattered along the wall. Not all the walls look the same. Different locations have different designs at the top. If you walk on the outside of them, when the sun is going down, the color of the wall just glows in its light.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Went to go for a run around ramparts ... take a map”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I thought the ramparts were the best place for a good long run. Indeed the footpaths are stable and it really is the only suitable area for a run. Looking at the map it seems simple to just run around in a loop. In reality there are a lot of turns where you don't know if it is following the wall or going into the Medina. I lost my bearings and ended up running back the way I came without realizing how I had done it. Even then I got lost again on the way back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BunchaSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,005 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sight, but don't go out of way to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The city ramparts are very beautiful and in my opinion 'look like' morocco.

That being said, they are really just walls. To a more artistic eye the place is very photogenic, and I'm sure at sunrise or sunset some great photos could be had.

Helpful?
10 Thank Ammon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“About 5 objects on display in each room.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A complete waste of time, don't bother going there. There is simply nothing to see. Haven't seen anything so sparsely populated.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monika_xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful red walls at sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The best time to see the ramparts is at sunset (the west or south ones). Then they are rich in its red color which is tipical for all the facades in Marrakech.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BorisPecigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Ramparts also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Ramparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing