We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went to go for a run around ramparts ... take a map” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Ramparts

Marrakech Ramparts
Marrakesh medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 140 things to do in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: These are the walls that surround the city. Circle them on foot or on a rented bike.
Vevey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Went to go for a run around ramparts ... take a map”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I thought the ramparts were the best place for a good long run. Indeed the footpaths are stable and it really is the only suitable area for a run. Looking at the map it seems simple to just run around in a loop. In reality there are a lot of turns where you don't know if it is following the wall or going into the Medina. I lost my bearings and ended up running back the way I came without realizing how I had done it. Even then I got lost again on the way back.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    38
    15
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
1,007 helpful votes 1,007 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sight, but don't go out of way to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The city ramparts are very beautiful and in my opinion 'look like' morocco.

That being said, they are really just walls. To a more artistic eye the place is very photogenic, and I'm sure at sunrise or sunset some great photos could be had.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“About 5 objects on display in each room.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A complete waste of time, don't bother going there. There is simply nothing to see. Haven't seen anything so sparsely populated.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful red walls at sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The best time to see the ramparts is at sunset (the west or south ones). Then they are rich in its red color which is tipical for all the facades in Marrakech.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Not that exciting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

To be honest we came across this place by chance and even then it wasnt that exciting. Dont make any special trip here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Ramparts also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Ramparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Ramparts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.