We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Moroccan Arts (Dar Si Said)

Museum of Moroccan Arts (Dar Si Said)
Derb El Bahia - Riad Zitoun el-Jedid, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 24 44 24 64
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 88 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Here you’ll find a solid exhibition of historic and some contemporary Moroccan art. The building itself is full of intricate Byzantine designs and colors.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The drab and unimaginative layout of exhibits was disappointing. The garden would benefit from more variety of plants.
As an alternative, the Jardin Majorelle is more than worth the additional cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    57
    30
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This was our Day 1 experience in Marrakech and we quickly came to realise that in North Africa in general their idea of a museum is quite different to the glossy, air conditioned, clean museums here in the UK - aren't we lucky.

Having said that it was a very interesting place with some stunning architecture and history to it.

We were latched onto by a "guide" in here who persisted in trailing round after us - on the plus side he did tell us about the place things we would never have known otherwise due to the lack of signage (ironic in Marrakech to have a LACK of signage!) - of course at the end of our visit he was expecting a tip - which is where my husband smiled at him and said, your tip has been eyeing my wife's chest (which was well covered!) for the last half hour. Which he had .... Don't suppose he'll learn, bless him.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best attraction in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

After visiting the two large palaces and being slightly disappointed, we stumbled on the Dar Si Said by accident as we were heading up to the main square. It has a small entrance but opens up into a beautiful house, packed with interesting exhibits that carry explanations in Arabic, French and English.
It seems this place isn't on the main tours as we almost had the place to ourselves.
Well worth the Dir10 admission fee.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
650 helpful votes 650 helpful votes
“small museum worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Fairly easy to find if you watch out for the signs off the Riad Zitoun el Jedid. The ground floor exhibits were not particularly exciting; the courtyard is pleasant, with lovely scent from the jasmine.
There is nothing particularly encouraging about climbing the stairs to the first floor, but this is well worthwhile as the tiling is superb, and the ceilings of the 3 main rooms are spectacular.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pombal, Portugal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This museum mixes traditional artefacts and contemporain art, that combines perfectly... The garden is nice.The entrance Is very cheap.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Moroccan Arts (Dar Si Said) also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Museum of Moroccan Arts (Dar Si Said)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Moroccan Arts (Dar Si Said), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.