We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Ramshackle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Si Said Museum

Dar Si Said Museum
Derb El Bahia - Riad Zitoun el-Jedid, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 24 44 24 64
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 140 things to do in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Here you’ll find a solid exhibition of historic and some contemporary Moroccan art. The building itself is full of intricate Byzantine designs and colors.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Bit Ramshackle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is so tucked away in a back street we struggled to find it. There are some interesting artefacts but the displays are dated. It is incredibly cheap to get in so is worth a look but the best bit was as we were leaving someone took us aside to show us the harem area which was closed to the public (yes, we had to pay him for his generosity!) It was beautifully tiled (as most buildings are in Marrakech) and really should be open to all visitors.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    92
    41
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Great museum, spoilt by leech who wouldn't go away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a lovely museum full of interesting artefacts of Moroccan arts... the building itself is nice too with nice courtyards, gardens, furniture, etc.

However our visit was spoilt by the leech who attached himself to us. We had become pretty adept at telling unwanted guides to go away but this guy wouldn't take no for an answer... he asked us (in French) if we spoke French and we answered NON, that we were English, we didn't speak French but he continued to jabber at us in French.

We said NON, AU REVOIR, ALLEZ VITE, etc but every which way we turned he jumped in front of us and jabbered in French at us something that we couldn't understand. We turned away and took a different direction and yet again he'd jump in front of us with something else we couldn't understand.

We were quite happy making our own way round and enjoying the atmosphere but this guy spoilt it.

Obviously you get these sort of people on the street but finding one inside the museum was bad. This was the only place in our entire time in Marrakech where we came across this problem.

Why do they allow it ? Don't the museum management spot and get rid of these leeches ?

So hopefully you won't be pestered on your visit if so you might get to enjoy the museum more than we did.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a lovely museum and well worth a visit. The building itself is beautiful and the garden courtyard is really pretty and filled with the most delicious scents.

It is really interesting to see the jewellery and traditional costumes that they wore, weapons and old photographs. There are also several items of pottery and fabrics.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Put it on your checklist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a fantastic museum of Moroccan arts. You'll see everything from pottery and ceramics, trough leather and fabric crafts to the fantastic stone walls and wooden ceilings which has been patiently sculptured and painted.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“History and an amazing building...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Loads to see here and dont miss the beautiful garden courtyard in the middle....This building was interesting in itself with all the exhibits of traditional dress, jewellery and weapons there is something for everyone.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Si Said Museum also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Si Said Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Si Said Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.