We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but better if you speak French” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Moroccan Arts (Dar Si Said)

Museum of Moroccan Arts (Dar Si Said)
Derb El Bahia - Riad Zitoun el-Jedid, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 24 44 24 64
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 86 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Here you’ll find a solid exhibition of historic and some contemporary Moroccan art. The building itself is full of intricate Byzantine designs and colors.
London
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Interesting but better if you speak French”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We visited this museum which was good, but all the information is in French, so without being able to read French fluently a lot was lost on us. Not the best attraction to visit, the Bahia and Badia palace were much more interesting, but nevertheless worth a stroll round. It's as cheap as chips!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    75
    37
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best museum in Museum in Marrakech”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

For what it's worth the Dar Si Said is the best palace museum in Marrakech with beautiful rooms and courtyards, but do not expect a "real" museum.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

All of the exhibit information is in French/Arabic neither of which we read so we weren't able to get a lot out of the museum side of it. The building is pretty, but we visited after already having seen a number of examples of Moroccan architecture (Bahia palace, Badii palace, Saadian tombs, Ben Youssef Medersa) and so sped through pretty quickly.

For 10dh it was fine though, nice to get out of the heat/noise outside. There are toilets but you may have to tip a few dirhams to use them.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“beautiful example of Islamic architecture and art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

The museum building itself is a very beautiful, as I entered it, first I saw an exhibition of modern Moroccan art which was surprising but very nice. Then I went to the main gallery with Berber art which is amazing. All these decorations over doors and windows are mind blowing. It's a 'must see' place in Marrakech.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Moroccan style architecture with traditional designed artifacts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

This building itself is amazing - the second and third floors are well worth your time! The ornate decorations are reminiscent of the etching and painting in the Alhambra (Granada, Spain). For 10 dh a person admission, you see samples of pottery, leather work, jewelry and rugs that are the standard by which the Jemma El Fna products can be judged. There is an interior courtyard. There is even a little wooden ferris wheel made for childrens' birthday parties. My favorite part was the upstairs rooms - it was definitely like walking through a work of art. The visit for us also included a tour of the harem area - where the palace owner kept his women, in which we were allowed to take photographs (we weren't allowed photos in the rest of the palace/museum).

I highly recommend! I enjoyed this much more than the Saadian tombs which are well advertised for tourists.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Moroccan Arts (Dar Si Said) also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Museum of Moroccan Arts (Dar Si Said)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Moroccan Arts (Dar Si Said), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.