We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaotic fun” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jemaa el Fna

Jemaa el Fna
Central square at entrance to market, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #12 of 89 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Neighborhoods, Performances
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
“Chaotic fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 NEW

Very difficult to find a place to eat without being hassled same with looking at any of the goods for sale. Surrounded by some good cafés & restaurants though with rooftop terraces to overlook the square.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,549
    2,386
    1,148
    333
    204
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great culture but be careful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 NEW

Had a great time exploring this area as it was all of 10mins walk from our riad. It had great restaurants (not the street food which is guaranteed to make you very ill) and the souks and shops where bursting. Only thing that is a let down is if you are South asian, the people can be quite rude and forceful, which we where stunned by (remarks about being Indian and Pakistani (even thoughts where none of these)where constant). There's loads of ATMs and exchange places and taxi and caleche (horse carriage) ranks around for quick travel acess.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Animal cruelty!... Disgusting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 NEW

I can honestly say this is the most horrible, vile place I have ever had the misfortune of visiting.

To see monkey's with chains around their necks and being punched in the face by there so called owners makes me sick to the bone and anyone using animals for their entertainment should be ashamed!

As soon as you enter the square you are continually harassed by people trying to misdirect, confusion and rip you off!

Ladies need to be particularly aware standing alone as many were groped by random men as western women are seen as 'easy'. You also need to be aware of the henna ladies who approach you, hold your then and then do some horrible rapid attempt at a henna tattoo and then demand money whilst holding a rusty old syringes over your hand.

I will never visit this place again and I most definitely wouldn't recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must be seen by day & night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 NEW

An incredible experience and completely different at night, lots of things I did not like such as monkeys wearing nappies, but it is their culture. You will get hassled by street traders and guides but that is part of the fun and everybody is very friendly. Have tea in one of the roof terraces and just drink in the atmosphere, it is unique and a real experience

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“don't like it so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 NEW

So crowded. Too many shops, everyone tells me to buy something, drink orange juice, see a performance (and he want some money), I got very tired. I don't like here so much.
From the airport, I paid 40dh taking a taxi, but it's a little hard to get this price.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el Fna also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el Fna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jemaa el Fna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.