We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yay you went there, now you will regret it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jemaa el Fna

Jemaa el Fna
Central square at entrance to market, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$60*
and up
Experience Marrakech: Food and Market Tour of...
Ranked #10 of 62 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Neighborhoods, Performances, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yay you went there, now you will regret it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The main square is the heart of the Medina and entrance to the Souks but there's nothing spectacular about it. It's large, noisy, has a very strong odor and you have vendors walking right up in your face and trying to force something into your hands. We actually had to physically run away from one man trying to force us to buy things, because in Marrakesh once you touch it you buy it. There's nothing impressive there at all, just a bunch of wagons and street vendors that will rip you off.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,845
    2,608
    1,241
    355
    221
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sights, but also noise and tourist traps”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

It's definitely worth visiting, and having a drink on one of the terraced cafes overlooking the city at sunset. Beware photographing the snake charmers, who will angrily hunt you down and demand money. Other vendors will pursue you -- keep your purse or wallet safe. Many entrances to the souk here; find a rally point if you and companions get lost. Most Riad hotels are a good walk from this square, but it's a great central location for finding your way back. Restaurants all serve the same stuff; boring after a few meals, so be prepared.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

What an amazing experience especially sitting at a restaurant overlooking the square watching it change from day to night. I wouldn't walk around dressed inappropriately especially at night. However if you dress without being 'on display' its fine. The colours, smells, sights are truly wonderful.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We visited the square on four occasions during our recent holiday, in the morning, afternoon (2) and evening.

Overall we enjoyed each visit but the evening was not as good as we expected. Perhaps the wish to sample food at different stalls was an issue as the stall holders often said "everything is the same and you should come to me not him"

The people selling rip off items became a bit tiresome.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Visited this square at first during the day. The entrance is pleasant enough with some stalls selling dates and fresh fruit juices, but approaching the centre we came across the sad sight of monkeys in chains and snake charmers, and if you stop for a moment or try to take a photo there'll inevitably be someone there demanding money or attempting to give you a henna tattoo.

We decided to give it a second chance and visit at night, but this time it was just plain awful. As you approach the multiple food stalls which are set up in the evenings, you are harassed left, right and centre to eat at the respective stalls. One of the stall owners actually pushed my friend after he declined and attempted to prevent him from walking around his stall, and after I said no to another stall owner the guy swore at me and threw up his middle finger!

Eventually we conceded and sat down at one place where unfortunately I had the worst tajine I've ever tasted (watery and bland, I think the vegetables were just cooked in plain stock) and had one mouthful of a chicken dish where the chicken was clearly off.

The square just feels like an area that is there purely for the exploitation of tourists. It's intense, and that's fine, but there isn't really much that's authentic or pleasant to experience or see here.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el Fna also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el Fna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jemaa el Fna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.