We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wild and crazy place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jemaa el Fna

Jemaa el Fna
Central square at entrance to market, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$58*
and up
Experience Marrakech: Food and Market Tour of...
Ranked #10 of 62 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Neighborhoods, Performances, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A wild and crazy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Everything from snake charmers to fortune tellers and stands of every kind. It is always busy especially at night.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,956
    2,696
    1,278
    365
    229
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can't miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It's a focus for everything: directions, entertainment, entry into souks, the place to get grilled food... who could miss seeing this?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The centre of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Action packed square that closes to traffic in the evening; lovely safe atmosphere with many roof top restaurants overlooking all the fun of the stalls.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Go at dusk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went to the Djema twice while in Marrakech. Once during the day when it seems a large, sprawling market square. And then in the evening when the place is just dazzlingly bright and noisy. It can be a bit intimidating but if you remain polite with the hordes of people trying to sell you something and the packed streets into the Souk it is a sensational experience. We ended the evening by eating in a Riad.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolute Chaos But Embrace It !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My partner and I recently visited Marrakech and came here most days - what an experience!

Our first visit was on the day we arrived and we were a little taken aback by the spectacles in the street; monkeys (in clothes & nappies), snakes (cobras & pythons), henna artists, dancers & musicians.... completely nuts! This was fabulous to observe however be mindful of where you walk and keep your wits about you as we were approached very suddenly by a man who practically threw his monkey onto my partners arm whilst another man approached with his smaller monkey, another with a camera and then a lady offering henna! We must have stuck out as new tourists to the area and it was a little overwhelming to begin with. Obviously these people want paying to allow you to have photographs and hold the monkey but they leave little time to negotiate prices before they place the animal in your arms. They tried to charge us 100 dirhams for both (£8) but we managed to get away with paying 70dirhams. BEWARE the monkey actually bit my partner, thankfully he didn't break the skin but these are still wild animals and still caused havoc by snatching our sunglasses and hair clips before throwing them across the square... Only in Marrakech!

There is also plenty of restaurants to grab some lunch or drinks, both in the square and off the side roads which is a nice rest bite from the craziness. Also in the Jemma El Fna locals have their own little stalls and what only can be described as car boot style areas where they sell the traditional items (tagine pots, cosmetics, jewellery, hats, shoes, ornaments etc etc). These are positioned in the centre and around the square. Be prepared to haggle (advisable to offer 45% of the asking price) and stay strong with your price THEY WILL BACK DOWN! You can grab some really great bargains!

During the day we found this to be quite tame compared to the evening, at night the place comes alive! As mentioned already there is this and more - the stalls are set up where you will find rows of local Moroccan food being cooked. We didn't try this however I have read that it's a must do in Marrakech and the food is meant to be good very tasty and very good value. We were recommended to try stall # 31....

As it's outdoors it is free to go and turn up which is great if you are travelling on a budget. It's the sort of place you can visit again and again, and probably spend a few hours walking round or simply sitting with a drink taking in the atmosphere.

Top Tips:

* Be prepared to tip and pay for almost everything - photos, looking at items etc! Be assertive if you are not interested and don't ask how much if you don't really intend to buy.
* Go with an open mind - it is dirty, there are animals dressed up, there are mopeds whizzing around everywhere and the locals can be very persistent but remember this is Morocco!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el Fna also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el Fna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jemaa el Fna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.