We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells sights and sounds!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jemaa el Fna

Jemaa el Fna
Central square at entrance to market, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Visit Jemaa el Fna like an insider
Top Rated
$38*
and up
Marrakech Discovery Tour
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
Horsham, West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Smells sights and sounds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had previously been to Istanbul so I think it helped us prepare for this! Yes you get hassled but once we said no they left us alone. We found them quite amusing..."Cheap as chips! Asda prices" they quite liked it if you were 'cheeky' back. Of course you have to have your wits about you as with any city. It's a mix of horse and carriages scooters snake charmers, entertainers, water carriers, food and drink stools. You can eat a starter and main course for 2 people at around £7!I would recommend 'Chez Chegrouni' near Cafe de France-very cheap and tasty-you are given a piece of paper to write your order on. Would recommend going through the week as apposed to over a weekend when it's a little less busy. Some of the signs in the Souks are mis-leading-they point to the square being in the opposite direction to what it is. There is certainly never a dull moment in Jemaa el Fna!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,589
    3,156
    1,463
    420
    265
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
519 reviews 519 reviews
235 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
378 helpful votes 378 helpful votes
“Shopping and Snakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

By Moroccan standards this felt fairly safe - but I'd still keep a close eye on your wallet. It is interesting, there are plenty of shops and easy for the inexperienced to get ripped off. In fact you will get ripped off, it is really just to what degree... But, enjoy the experience.
The actual square is best at dusk or evening with the snake charmers and other attractions, best to take some time and absorb the atmosphere...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This place is like being in a strange dream its a total head rush!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

In the day this square appears like any other, come back at night mad berber drumming and tribal dancers send you into a trance! crowds and crowds of people, stalls and stalls selling everything from oranges to dried dates to oraments. Snake charmers, monkeys on leads its totally crazy, mad buzzing and beating like your heart after too much strong coffee. And in the centre are bench after table after bench of food stalls. However couple things to watch for are pick pockets one put their hand in my back pocket, silly fool never put anything in there. And the food is not clean at the stalls, got bad screaming Abdabs and vomitting at the airport on the way home!! was not much fun! But generally Jemaa El Fna was marrakech for me, nothing else compared.....

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beware henna ladies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We are 2 females. Each time we ventured into Jemaa el Fna we were accosted by the Henna Ladies. They continually grabbed hold of our arms trying to give us a free gift of a henna flower. They don't take NO for an answer, very persistent. We had to keep turning and walking away, not conducive to sight seeing. Also note when walking around the old town; the touts approach you pretending they work at your hotel and have just come off shift and although you don't recognise them, they recognise you and they would be so happy to show you the Berber exhibition which is on for this day only !!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“All they say and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Sights and sounds and smells - assault on all senses - completely worth the visit ... over and over - went each night and was not disappointed

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el Fna also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el Fna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jemaa el Fna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.