We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping and Snakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jemaa el Fna

Jemaa el Fna
Central square at entrance to market, Marrakech, Morocco
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #17 of 90 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Neighborhoods, Performances
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
188 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Shopping and Snakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

By Moroccan standards this felt fairly safe - but I'd still keep a close eye on your wallet. It is interesting, there are plenty of shops and easy for the inexperienced to get ripped off. In fact you will get ripped off, it is really just to what degree... But, enjoy the experience.
The actual square is best at dusk or evening with the snake charmers and other attractions, best to take some time and absorb the atmosphere...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,846
    1,915
    911
    269
    160
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This place is like being in a strange dream its a total head rush!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

In the day this square appears like any other, come back at night mad berber drumming and tribal dancers send you into a trance! crowds and crowds of people, stalls and stalls selling everything from oranges to dried dates to oraments. Snake charmers, monkeys on leads its totally crazy, mad buzzing and beating like your heart after too much strong coffee. And in the centre are bench after table after bench of food stalls. However couple things to watch for are pick pockets one put their hand in my back pocket, silly fool never put anything in there. And the food is not clean at the stalls, got bad screaming Abdabs and vomitting at the airport on the way home!! was not much fun! But generally Jemaa El Fna was marrakech for me, nothing else compared.....

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beware henna ladies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We are 2 females. Each time we ventured into Jemaa el Fna we were accosted by the Henna Ladies. They continually grabbed hold of our arms trying to give us a free gift of a henna flower. They don't take NO for an answer, very persistent. We had to keep turning and walking away, not conducive to sight seeing. Also note when walking around the old town; the touts approach you pretending they work at your hotel and have just come off shift and although you don't recognise them, they recognise you and they would be so happy to show you the Berber exhibition which is on for this day only !!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“All they say and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Sights and sounds and smells - assault on all senses - completely worth the visit ... over and over - went each night and was not disappointed

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Great experience especially in the evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited during the day and were a little underwhelmed but when we returned in the evening it had changed completely with loads of entertainers , meal stalls, lots of lights and hundreds of people. We went onto one of the square's cafe's upper terrace. (be prepared to pay a little more for your drinks) - but it is worth it to take in all the sights without any hassle( not that we experienced much hassle as it was nearly all good natured competition between the stall holders. The prices for food and drink at the stalls or the surrounding cafes was very reasonable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el Fna also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el Fna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jemaa el Fna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Jemaa el Fna to your Saves list