We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All they say and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jemaa el Fna

Jemaa el Fna
Central square at entrance to market, Marrakech 40060, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$41*
and up
Marrakech Discovery Tour
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All they say and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Sights and sounds and smells - assault on all senses - completely worth the visit ... over and over - went each night and was not disappointed

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,841
    3,346
    1,547
    455
    286
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Great experience especially in the evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited during the day and were a little underwhelmed but when we returned in the evening it had changed completely with loads of entertainers , meal stalls, lots of lights and hundreds of people. We went onto one of the square's cafe's upper terrace. (be prepared to pay a little more for your drinks) - but it is worth it to take in all the sights without any hassle( not that we experienced much hassle as it was nearly all good natured competition between the stall holders. The prices for food and drink at the stalls or the surrounding cafes was very reasonable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The square comes alive at night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Jemma el Fna is a great place to spend the day and night. We walked into the square when we first arrived and had a drink at Cafe De'France to take it all in. At night time the square comes alive with performers, street food and market sellers. We ate at No.15 and No.25 - both were good, No.25 being better but more expensive. Dinner is around 200dirhams which includes bread,olives, water, and a great selection of moroccan dishes.

Be weary of the snake charmers and locals who try to approach you with Atlas monkeys. My boyfriend just responded to a hello from one local and before he knew it, had a monkey on his shoulders!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere at the night market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The food at the night market was so good that we ate there twice. Though not having the luxury of a sit down restaurant, there's several stalls to choose from and there's lots of variety. The cous cous and kebab dishes were great. I was concerned that we may get ill from eating here, but didn't at all. The atmosphere is great and some of the best food on our trip was eaten here at a very low price. It's ideal to eat here, enjoy the entertainment on the square and then head off for cocktails.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Wonderful place.... MUST SEE.... big open market square full of people and tourists.... so much activity, so much to see, to try...

Be carefull when taking photos or some people will ask you for money afterwards... also be aware of henna tatoo women as they start the tatoo without asking as a free gift that you must pay ¿?¿?¿

I recommend to try fresh orange juices...really nice taste and cheap price...and avoid to eat at the market central restaurants as the food is really bad.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el Fna also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el Fna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jemaa el Fna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.