We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jemaa el Fna

Jemaa el Fna
Central square at entrance to market, Marrakech, Morocco
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #17 of 90 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Neighborhoods, Performances
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
Ballerup, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worst place ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed close to Jemaa el Fnaa for the 3 days I was in Marrakech. I really hated every time I had to go through it. All the hustlers, scammers, rude people etc etc really could ruin every day. Every time I would look at something, even from a distance, there would be someone trying to make money out of me. The ones with the monkeys tried to get me to take pictures with them, the ones with shops tried to pull me in, others tried to guide me in another direction and so it goes on.

Normally I like a big crowd like New York or Bangkok, but I will never recommend people to visit this place for a longer time. There are a few good restaurants here and there, and it's more fun to sit and watch all the frenzy from a distance. Also, there are soooo many scooters and bikes that I was constantly feeling I was in danger of being hit by a bypasser.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,852
    1,916
    913
    270
    160
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Morrocan version of "The Apperentice"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Jemma at night - great atmosphere. Not really for the food but to experience the Morrocan art of persuasion. Join in the fun. A must do for visitors :)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I really don't recommend the central restaurants in the evening, shoved together and over priced for quality, choose some of the small restaurants/cafes around the edge, some great tagines for 3€. Please don't have photos taken with the monkeys, these are taken from the wild as babies and mostly seem very unhappy in their life hugging tourists and probably tied up all day. But do talk to the men with them, I met one who had a good relationship with his monkey and seemed to be kind though I still see it as prison for these animals, i gave no money but encouraged the guy to use a soft, supple leather collar rather than a chain and said how important it was to treat them well. If lots of people say that tourists like to see animals treated well perhaps it will help the life of those already taken. Living in hope!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“sooooo much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

listened to story tellers.. saw and held snakes & monkeys.. great experience! great atmosphere .. i fell in love with marrakech.. and i enjoyed this 100%.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“the soul of marrakech - lively and vibrant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

perhaps one of the most tourist filled places within Marrakech, Jemaa el Fna still recieves 5 stars for what an adventure it provides. More commercialized than its old medina counterpart, the bright sun filled plaza beside a mosque provides visitors with full ambiance of french - moroccan tourist culture. The plaza is filled with fruit and spice stalls, locals with monkeys and snakes that they offer tourists to take pictures with for a small fee and a mixed plethora of entertainers such as magicians and story tellers and bystanders. The aura of the place is so rich in its culture and diversity that one will notice peddlers selling carriage rides or toys being able to speak at least 11 different languages to the basic degree. the liveliness and bustle of the place is turned into solemnity during their calls for prayers which happens 5 times a day. A completely different experience and culturally enriching adventure. Anyone who calls themselves worldly must simply experience something like this at least once in their lives.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el Fna also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el Fna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jemaa el Fna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.