We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy square - must go to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jemaa el Fna

Jemaa el Fna
Central square at entrance to market, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Visit Jemaa el Fna like an insider
Top Rated
$41*
and up
Marrakech Discovery Tour
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Crazy square - must go to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

By day it is touristy and crazy. By night it a smoke filled eating delight. We ate at Stall # 1 - the most highly rated stall here on TA and by our Riad. It was fantastic. I had the lamb couscous and it was delicious.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,614
    3,174
    1,471
    424
    267
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

nice place..be ready to bargain if u wanna buy things from there.best time is to visit by 5 pm..its so colorful

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting and Exotic...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I'm not sure that you can make a trip to Morocco and not experience this place but if I decided to go back to Morocco, there are a host of other places I would visit again, and this probably wouldn't be among them.

Our tour guide described the vendors as "sticky" and they are. They don't readily accept the words "la shukran", "la" or even "la la" and by the time one has left you be another one has found you. Admittedly, they are very good at remembering people, so if you pass them again, you won't get another round. But admittedly, once you've made one round, there isn't much more to see.

The square is also filled with western tourists that don't quite get the idea of appropriate dress and my preference is to just stay away from them. The souks are like many around Morocco, though we are reliably told that the products aren't hand crafted as in many other areas.

I think this is a place worth seeing, but not for more than a day and a night.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An incredible place !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great place to go have a drink at sunset and see how the crowds of people change form day shoppers to arrival of evening where food stands are put up for dinner. A great mix of sounds (music, people talking, singing, motorcycles, laughing etc...) have a drink at one of the bars around he square and watch this from up high. Also drink the fresh and cheap orange juice if you go here earlier during the day. Take a big empty water bottle and fill it up to take back to hotel (if you don't dirk it on the way...)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“2600 shops!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

As long as you can refuse the persistant merchants, but be warned once you show an interest they won't leave you alone!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el Fna also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el Fna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jemaa el Fna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.