We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum of Marrakech - beautiful building and lovely items” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Marrakesh

Museum of Marrakesh
Place Ben Youssef, Marrakech, Morocco
670912536
Improve this listing
Visit Museum of Marrakesh like an insider
Top Rated
$20*
and up
Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour
Ranked #54 of 141 things to do in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Museum of Marrakech - beautiful building and lovely items”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

You can buy a combined ticket to se the museum and the Medersa Ben Youssef which I would advise. They are very close and both worth seeing.
The museum is in an old palace with beautiful architecture.
Many fascinating items such as embroidery that used to be done by young children as it was so fine that even teenagers could not thread the needles and see the fine work. Silver jewellery that had meanings about the status of a girl and her feelings for young men when it was forbidden to openly talk to them. Paintigs, pottery, clothing etc.
There was also an art exhibition which was very good.t
Plus old hamman bath house.

Do go with a guide to get the most from it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    118
    78
    39
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nothing in English, pretty small”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was told by my guide book and by a few locals to go and see this museum as it was supposedly well-worth seeing. Of course, none of them told me it was all in Arabic and French, without even hand-held listening guides!
It is pretty small and I would say that, in comparison to most museums I have been to, there is not a lot to see here!
Furthermore, to get here you will have to negotiate your way through a lot of large sougs from the square medina. So do be careful, I would say this was the worst part of Morocco I have been in for pressure and harassment from the locals to buy things. They will often carry on following you, and in my case a few even told me the wrong way to go, just so they had more time to try and convince me that I had to buy x, y and z!
So, if you do decide to go, I recommend you take a taxi there!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Take your French/English Dictionary!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The entrance courtyard looked promising with a very nice cafe with seats outside and under a colonnade. There is also a rather small bookshop with an even smaller range of art books.
As you approach the actual entrance to the Palace, you will see the only sign in English which advises you that you can take photo's!
The exhibits are rather uninteresting (several rooms have nothing in them!) and the descriptions are all in Arabic and French, but the 19th Century Palace in which they are housed is worth the admission fee alone; beautifully restored and quite spectacular, the central courtyard surrounded by colonnades, is vast with a lovely tiled floor and three fountains in the middle, which would have been really nice if they had been working on the hot day that I visited, but (as seems to be the case in Marrakesh) all dry! There are also fountains set into niches in the walls but again - all dry!
The Museum is only a very short walk from the Ali Ben Youssef Medersa,

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
612 reviews 612 reviews
233 attraction reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
408 helpful votes 408 helpful votes
“Interesting chandelier, tiles and ceiling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We paid 10 extra dirhams at the Ben Youssed Medersa to go this museum nearby. There isn't a lot to see but I thought the large metal chandeliers were beautiful and intricate. I have never seen chandeliers like those before in any palace. The tiles were beautiful and colorful. There is a person who will write your name in Arabic for 2 euros. There is a hamman there where people would go to be cleansed. I am not sure but I believe it is no longer operational. There is some artwork, clothing and jewelry displays.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Marrakech Museum, Beautiful interior of former palace!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Musee de Marrakech was a former palace. it is housed in the Dar M’Nebhi Palace. It was renovated and opened in the year 1997 by Omar Benjelloun - a Moroccan arts patron. The palace was built in the late 19th century for defence minister Mehdi Mnebb. It is a perfect example of Moroccan architecture with a traditional courtyard in the middle of the building.
The museum offers a collection of Moroccan artefacts as well of contemporary art.

also, Inside the museum, there are an ethnographic objects, contemporary art and historic documents. I loved the mosaic tile work, the intricate carvings, and the arches. Be sure to stop for some mint tea in the courtyard!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Marrakesh also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Museum of Marrakesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Marrakesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.