We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing in English, pretty small” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Marrakesh

Museum of Marrakesh
Place Ben Youssef, Marrakech, Morocco
670912536
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$20*
and up
Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour
Ranked #51 of 150 things to do in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nothing in English, pretty small”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was told by my guide book and by a few locals to go and see this museum as it was supposedly well-worth seeing. Of course, none of them told me it was all in Arabic and French, without even hand-held listening guides!
It is pretty small and I would say that, in comparison to most museums I have been to, there is not a lot to see here!
Furthermore, to get here you will have to negotiate your way through a lot of large sougs from the square medina. So do be careful, I would say this was the worst part of Morocco I have been in for pressure and harassment from the locals to buy things. They will often carry on following you, and in my case a few even told me the wrong way to go, just so they had more time to try and convince me that I had to buy x, y and z!
So, if you do decide to go, I recommend you take a taxi there!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    123
    80
    42
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Take your French/English Dictionary!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The entrance courtyard looked promising with a very nice cafe with seats outside and under a colonnade. There is also a rather small bookshop with an even smaller range of art books.
As you approach the actual entrance to the Palace, you will see the only sign in English which advises you that you can take photo's!
The exhibits are rather uninteresting (several rooms have nothing in them!) and the descriptions are all in Arabic and French, but the 19th Century Palace in which they are housed is worth the admission fee alone; beautifully restored and quite spectacular, the central courtyard surrounded by colonnades, is vast with a lovely tiled floor and three fountains in the middle, which would have been really nice if they had been working on the hot day that I visited, but (as seems to be the case in Marrakesh) all dry! There are also fountains set into niches in the walls but again - all dry!
The Museum is only a very short walk from the Ali Ben Youssef Medersa,

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
644 reviews
239 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
“Interesting chandelier, tiles and ceiling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We paid 10 extra dirhams at the Ben Youssed Medersa to go this museum nearby. There isn't a lot to see but I thought the large metal chandeliers were beautiful and intricate. I have never seen chandeliers like those before in any palace. The tiles were beautiful and colorful. There is a person who will write your name in Arabic for 2 euros. There is a hamman there where people would go to be cleansed. I am not sure but I believe it is no longer operational. There is some artwork, clothing and jewelry displays.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Marrakech Museum, Beautiful interior of former palace!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Musee de Marrakech was a former palace. it is housed in the Dar M’Nebhi Palace. It was renovated and opened in the year 1997 by Omar Benjelloun - a Moroccan arts patron. The palace was built in the late 19th century for defence minister Mehdi Mnebb. It is a perfect example of Moroccan architecture with a traditional courtyard in the middle of the building.
The museum offers a collection of Moroccan artefacts as well of contemporary art.

also, Inside the museum, there are an ethnographic objects, contemporary art and historic documents. I loved the mosaic tile work, the intricate carvings, and the arches. Be sure to stop for some mint tea in the courtyard!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dull and no English translations”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Small dull with no English information. To read. A few tired old exhibits. You pay an extra 10MAD on the admiration to the Islamic school so not much extra but not worth your time.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Marrakesh also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Museum of Marrakesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Marrakesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.