We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Respite from the medina, quite interesting, some beautiful items” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Marrakesh

Museum of Marrakesh
Place Ben Youssef, Marrakech, Morocco
670912536
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$17*
and up
Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour
Ranked #39 of 86 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Respite from the medina, quite interesting, some beautiful items”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The museum is next to the Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa in the northern medina. It's 50 dirhams to enter (just over £4) but if you can buy a combined ticket for both attractions for 60 dirhams.

Not massive amounts to see but it is all rather beautiful. The light in the main hall is serene. We found it welcome respite from the medina and a chance to check our guidebook too rather than do that in the fray outside!

There is a cafe in the courtyard at the entrance to the museum.

Tip, the walk from the museum back to the Jemma el Fna is signposted. Just turn left when you exit the museum and follow the red signs.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    99
    72
    39
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not worth it one bit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

As it is the museum of Marrakech I thought it would be quite good so had high expectations. It was 6€ for a double entry to the museum and the old university that's just down the lane. They had a few bits of jewellery, clothes, weapons and some new art but it was very scarce and only explained in Arabic or French so not good for only English speakers. The building was ok and it did have free toilets. But overall not worth it as you could spend that money on a nice lunch that would last twice as long.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

this museum doubles as an art gallery as well. plus you can get a combined ticket for it and the Koranic school (Madrassa ben Youssef).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“There are better things to do”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

You spend 50dh to watch the nice architecture of a room.. and to visit some paintings on sale.. disappointed..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
666 helpful votes 666 helpful votes
“Interesting architecturally.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our guide took us here on our first day and not sure we'd have found it ourselves. Not a huge amount to see apart from beautiful architecture and a few exhibits. Unfortunately in common with a number of museums etc that we visited in Marrakech, there are no English translations. Thankfully this wasn't an issue for us as we are bilingual but others will struggle!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Marrakesh also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Museum of Marrakesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Marrakesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.