We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it one bit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Marrakesh

Museum of Marrakesh
Place Ben Youssef, Marrakech, Morocco
044/39-09-11
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #52 of 92 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not worth it one bit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

As it is the museum of Marrakech I thought it would be quite good so had high expectations. It was 6€ for a double entry to the museum and the old university that's just down the lane. They had a few bits of jewellery, clothes, weapons and some new art but it was very scarce and only explained in Arabic or French so not good for only English speakers. The building was ok and it did have free toilets. But overall not worth it as you could spend that money on a nice lunch that would last twice as long.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    85
    64
    37
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

this museum doubles as an art gallery as well. plus you can get a combined ticket for it and the Koranic school (Madrassa ben Youssef).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“There are better things to do”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

You spend 50dh to watch the nice architecture of a room.. and to visit some paintings on sale.. disappointed..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
655 helpful votes 655 helpful votes
“Interesting architecturally.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our guide took us here on our first day and not sure we'd have found it ourselves. Not a huge amount to see apart from beautiful architecture and a few exhibits. Unfortunately in common with a number of museums etc that we visited in Marrakech, there are no English translations. Thankfully this wasn't an issue for us as we are bilingual but others will struggle!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not worth the 50 dh fee, no English text to read.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Look out, it's not easy to get here.

Although the architecture is beautiful, it is rather dead and empty on the inside, though there are some interesting objects worth looking at. I went with a friend who doesn't speak French, and had to basically translate everything for him, since there are barely no English posters or explanations.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Marrakesh also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Museum of Marrakesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Marrakesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.