We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it one bit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Marrakesh

Museum of Marrakesh
Place Ben Youssef, Marrakech, Morocco
670912536
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$17*
and up
Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour
Ranked #421 of 735 Attractions in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not worth it one bit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

As it is the museum of Marrakech I thought it would be quite good so had high expectations. It was 6€ for a double entry to the museum and the old university that's just down the lane. They had a few bits of jewellery, clothes, weapons and some new art but it was very scarce and only explained in Arabic or French so not good for only English speakers. The building was ok and it did have free toilets. But overall not worth it as you could spend that money on a nice lunch that would last twice as long.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    108
    75
    39
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

this museum doubles as an art gallery as well. plus you can get a combined ticket for it and the Koranic school (Madrassa ben Youssef).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“There are better things to do”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

You spend 50dh to watch the nice architecture of a room.. and to visit some paintings on sale.. disappointed..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
671 helpful votes 671 helpful votes
“Interesting architecturally.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our guide took us here on our first day and not sure we'd have found it ourselves. Not a huge amount to see apart from beautiful architecture and a few exhibits. Unfortunately in common with a number of museums etc that we visited in Marrakech, there are no English translations. Thankfully this wasn't an issue for us as we are bilingual but others will struggle!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not worth the 50 dh fee, no English text to read.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Look out, it's not easy to get here.

Although the architecture is beautiful, it is rather dead and empty on the inside, though there are some interesting objects worth looking at. I went with a friend who doesn't speak French, and had to basically translate everything for him, since there are barely no English posters or explanations.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Marrakesh also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Museum of Marrakesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Marrakesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.