We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting architecturally.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Marrakesh

Museum of Marrakesh
Place Ben Youssef, Marrakech, Morocco
670912536
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$20*
and up
Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour
Ranked #54 of 150 things to do in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
100 attraction reviews
677 helpful votes 677 helpful votes
“Interesting architecturally.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our guide took us here on our first day and not sure we'd have found it ourselves. Not a huge amount to see apart from beautiful architecture and a few exhibits. Unfortunately in common with a number of museums etc that we visited in Marrakech, there are no English translations. Thankfully this wasn't an issue for us as we are bilingual but others will struggle!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    121
    78
    41
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not worth the 50 dh fee, no English text to read.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Look out, it's not easy to get here.

Although the architecture is beautiful, it is rather dead and empty on the inside, though there are some interesting objects worth looking at. I went with a friend who doesn't speak French, and had to basically translate everything for him, since there are barely no English posters or explanations.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture with some items of interest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The tiling, plaster work and decor is beautiful, however the 'contemporary' art display is very poor - there is better art to be seen in the souks. The artifacts aren't all that old (on the most part) or interesting, and again there is no information in English (for those that cant read french) so take a guide book that offers some information. The central lantern (?) in the large room is amazing!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good local art.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It's fair to say there is not much in here, I enjoyed looking at the art though and although it isn't worth the entrance price of 50Dhs, we got it for an extra 10Dhs added onto our Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa ticket so 80p.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice, little museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The museum is pretty hard to find and the entrance is somewhat high for Moroccan standards (50 dh), but the museum is worth a visit. The central 'room' is huge and beautifully decorated. The artefacts are allright. We liked the contemporary exposition, with about 20 modern paintings, the most.
Furthermore, it's a quiet and relaxed place. When you're done wandering through the souks, it's nice to just sit around and have some peace and tranquility.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Marrakesh also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Museum of Marrakesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Marrakesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.