We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful architecture with some items of interest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Marrakesh

Museum of Marrakesh
Place Ben Youssef, Marrakech, Morocco
044/39-09-11
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #52 of 92 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture with some items of interest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The tiling, plaster work and decor is beautiful, however the 'contemporary' art display is very poor - there is better art to be seen in the souks. The artifacts aren't all that old (on the most part) or interesting, and again there is no information in English (for those that cant read french) so take a guide book that offers some information. The central lantern (?) in the large room is amazing!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    85
    64
    37
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good local art.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It's fair to say there is not much in here, I enjoyed looking at the art though and although it isn't worth the entrance price of 50Dhs, we got it for an extra 10Dhs added onto our Ali Ben Youssef Madrasa ticket so 80p.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice, little museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The museum is pretty hard to find and the entrance is somewhat high for Moroccan standards (50 dh), but the museum is worth a visit. The central 'room' is huge and beautifully decorated. The artefacts are allright. We liked the contemporary exposition, with about 20 modern paintings, the most.
Furthermore, it's a quiet and relaxed place. When you're done wandering through the souks, it's nice to just sit around and have some peace and tranquility.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A big dissapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I am a fan of museums and Art galleries and make a point of visiting them in every place I travel . This has to be the most disappointing Museum I have ever visited in 30 years of travelling. It was embarrassing. Where have all the Artefacts gone ? and as for the exhibition of ' Modern' Art one would have seen better at a Primary School.

The Building was of vague interest but if this was meant to be the main Municipal Museum of Marrakech then someone needs to take it in hand.

Unless you have a interest in the building do not bother - it was also the most expensive entrance fee we paid in Marrakech.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We thought we should go in as we passed and at least take a look. As others have mentioned everything is in French so we walked around without really any appreciation this obviously isn't ideal. Perhaps an unfair review in that respect. The mosaic tiled rooms were worth a few photos. Not really worth the 60dh entry in our opinion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Marrakesh also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Museum of Marrakesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Marrakesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.