We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, little museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Marrakesh

Museum of Marrakesh
Place Ben Youssef, Marrakech, Morocco
670912536
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$19*
and up
Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour
Ranked #35 of 62 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice, little museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The museum is pretty hard to find and the entrance is somewhat high for Moroccan standards (50 dh), but the museum is worth a visit. The central 'room' is huge and beautifully decorated. The artefacts are allright. We liked the contemporary exposition, with about 20 modern paintings, the most.
Furthermore, it's a quiet and relaxed place. When you're done wandering through the souks, it's nice to just sit around and have some peace and tranquility.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    91
    69
    38
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A big dissapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I am a fan of museums and Art galleries and make a point of visiting them in every place I travel . This has to be the most disappointing Museum I have ever visited in 30 years of travelling. It was embarrassing. Where have all the Artefacts gone ? and as for the exhibition of ' Modern' Art one would have seen better at a Primary School.

The Building was of vague interest but if this was meant to be the main Municipal Museum of Marrakech then someone needs to take it in hand.

Unless you have a interest in the building do not bother - it was also the most expensive entrance fee we paid in Marrakech.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We thought we should go in as we passed and at least take a look. As others have mentioned everything is in French so we walked around without really any appreciation this obviously isn't ideal. Perhaps an unfair review in that respect. The mosaic tiled rooms were worth a few photos. Not really worth the 60dh entry in our opinion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small nice museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The museum is not big so with reading of all the information you need not more than 30 min for sure. The main hall is nice and some interesting typical Moroccan architecture (if you haven't seen any other Morrocan museum yet). I wouldn't put it on "must seen" list of Marrakesh but its a nice place to relaxe if you are annoyed by the markt atmosphere of medina.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Put on to do List”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This Museum of Marrakesh was quite worth the visit. Well laid out with some nice display. Cost was approx 50dhr which hopefully goes towards improving total display.Tile displays were outstanding with centre display somewhat futuristic… not quite sure where that came from. Our guide took us there so assume on the standard tour trail.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Marrakesh also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Museum of Marrakesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Marrakesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.