We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Don't!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tanneries

Tanneries
outside Bab Debbagh, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 91 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Factory Tours, Neighborhoods
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Leather tanning is the major industry in the city. It’s definitely worth a walk through this neighborhood.
Yardley Gobion, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just Don't!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

From our experience and those of other tourists that we met, the only way anyone went here was because they were told that they were going to see something else--normally the last day of a Berber festival in a square somewhere, before they return to the mountains---utter tripe! We arrived following our 'helpful' passer-by and got as far as the entrance. A peek inside and one sniff said it all---disgusting!! No wonder they had to con us to get us there. The smell made us both feel sick, in spite of the bunch of mint thrust at us at the entrance! We left very quickly. There are so many amazing and beautiful things to see and smell in Marrakech, why anyone would bother with the tanneries is beyond belief!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    45
    31
    34
    71
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The tanneries in Marrakech are a must-see in this city. Ofcourse the place smells that is part of the experience and yes they give you mint if you find it that overbearing. In Fes you are just taken to a rooftop to overlook the tannery and hear about all the processes from above, but in Marrakech you are walked through the actual tannery and thus the smell is more confronting but it is such a brilliant experience to see everything happening in front of you. I don't know why people would complain about such a great experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“very unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

You need some mint leaves under your nose, since the smell is unbearable. Very unique place. A must see.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good experience! ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

First we need to say: what do you think it is? A Spa?

We went to the tanneries knowing what's going on there! They are preparing skin to leather in a - more or less - traditional way! It's worth to go there if you want to see how they make their work! But like the other reviews say - everyone there wants to make money - just don't be afraid to say "No thanks!"
Three points because you can't compare this with f.e. the really beautiful jardin majorelle! But indeed it's special and worth a walk!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a similar experience to other people. As we were walking near our Riad a young man said that he was a neighbour and wanted to tell us that it was a special Berber holiday and that we should visit the leather market. We thought we would have a quick look and at the end of the street another man, who was obviously an associate of the first young man, directed us towards the tanneries. A third man then kept telling us to follow him as he "happened to be going that way". At the entrance of the tanneries we were given sprigs of mint to counteract the stench and entered a scene which looked medieval. Men were in pits of animal urine curing leather hides. The smell was awful. After a few minutes I said I was leaving but the guide said we were half way around so I should carry on. He then tried to persuade me to go to the leather market but I refused. He asked for money and I gave him 20 dirhams but he insisted on 40. Ok, that is not a fortune but the whole experience was unpleasant. If anyone suggests you go to the tanneries just say NO.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanneries also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Tanneries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanneries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tanneries to your Saves list