We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different you won't find anywhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saadian Tombs

Saadian Tombs
Next to Kasbah Mosque, off rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech, Morocco
670912536
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$42*
and up
Marrakech Discovery Tour
Ranked #29 of 62 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Architectural Buildings, Cemeteries, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Saadian Tombs are located just outside Marrakech and were constructed during the reign of Sultan Ahmad al-Mansur in the late 16th century. This is the resting place of al-Mansur, his family, and other notable officials from that era. These tombs were discovered in 1917; restoration began shortly thereafter. Today, much of its original splendour has been restored.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Something different you won't find anywhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Something totally different in Marrakech entrance was just 10 Dirhams. We didn't have a guide which is something you must have to go to such a historic place...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    357
    290
    69
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“underwhelming”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

A truly short visit required, totally underwhellemed, no explanation of what you are seeing, I was lucky i visited when it was quiet, some people on here queued for an hour to see the main area, it was pretty but id have been very annoyed waiting that long for the highly restricted view. It is however less than a quid to get in so can you really comaplain?

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baumholder, Germany
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Having been to many tombs in many countries this was really quite different. Inexpensive entrance and we actually came here with a guide who provided some great information on the history of the tombs. Some of the other reviews have noted a lack of information and we would not have gotten what we did from it without our guide. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must see place to visit in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I visited the Saadian Tombs on the second day of our visit to Morocco. Getting there was not complicated. As we were staying in a hotel near Jamaa el-Fenaa, we we're only a 15 minute walk away, and combined the visit with trips to The Palais Badi and Palais El Bahia.
Best thing is to download an offline city map if you have a smart phone and a print out of your route from hotel to tourist attraction.
Beware of strange men offering to show you the way as we had just started walking down Rue de la Kasbah when a man waved us to follow him down an alley where he would take us to the tombs. Avoid people like that, instead we continued down the rue and you'll see the Mosque el Mansour on the side (was being renovated during our visit) and the entrance to the tombs was next to the mosque.
The entry fee was 10 dirhams per person which is a bargain compared to some London attractions. Passing through a narrow walkway you'll arrive at the tombs. Tiled flat graves under beautiful orange trees, with small Arabic inscripted blocks. There must have been a hundred across the site so it's essentially a graveyard. Being Muslims, we felt it was inappropriate to take photos of graves but we snapped some of the beautifully engraved archways in the ceilings. The more important kings had graves in open mausoleums and overall it was a very somber but fascinating place to visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great architecture ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great moorish architecture alone makes this worth a visit. Yes it can be done in 20 minutes and is very very cheap. Equally what you see is outstanding and very cooling on a warn sunny afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saadian Tombs also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Saadian Tombs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saadian Tombs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.