We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kittie galore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saadian Tombs

Saadian Tombs
Next to Kasbah Mosque, off rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech, Morocco
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #37 of 90 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Cemeteries, Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Saadian Tombs are located just outside Marrakech and were constructed during the reign of Sultan Ahmad al-Mansur in the late 16th century. This is the resting place of al-Mansur, his family, and other notable officials from that era. These tombs were discovered in 1917; restoration began shortly thereafter. Today, much of its original splendour has been restored.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“kittie galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

More beautiful tiles..preserved perfectly took about 25 minutes to see evrything but very reasonable at 10 dhms..also loads of tiny kittens which always leads to a happy trip ;0))

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    281
    238
    54
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth a trip.. but not that much to see. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Worth a trip, great for just 10dhms pp.. but we were only there for about 40 mins and 20 of that was to queue to view the kings main tomb. The decoration was nice..but more elaborate and impressive work can be found throughout the city. If you want to see a little piece of history and some cute kittens then definitely go here. But I found the palaces more interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting piece of history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

More tiles, cedar ceiling an marble friezes - still interesting to see and comprehend how powerful this dynasty was to command such a large burial area

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“A well preserved sight, worth a quick visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Saadian Tombs as part of a larger tour organised through Thomson. The tombs are beautifully preserved, having been sealed off for many years and only recently reopened to the public. The tombs themselves won't take long to look around but it's a nice quiet spot and worth a visit, especially if its already part of a larger tour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, England
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
124 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Saadian Tombs - A bit Disappointing Really”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We specifically made our way to the tombs following some research before our trip and must say we were a little disappointed. Cheap enough to get in ( 10 Dirhams ) the place was restricted in size and although the tombs were clear and precise in where they were laid out, the surrounding architecture was not as good as I would have expected. It is okay but nothing spectacular. Maybe my trip to India earlier this year had raised my expectations when visiting such sights. When inside we also unfortunately visited the same time as a large group and as others have mentioned the viewing areas were extremely busy adding to the disappointment we felt. Indeed the activities of the many cats in the area seemed more interesting than the sight, with a particularly scarred pink ( white fur with blood ) cat getting attacked by the others every few minutes. We headed for the tombs in the middle of the day in very hot weather and although it looked impressive from the outside, the inner area left us a little flat. Maybe that's just me.
One last point is to look out for the stork nest and storks on the tall chimney as you enter the tombs. Look up and you cannot miss them. What a sight.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saadian Tombs also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Saadian Tombs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saadian Tombs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.