We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well preserved sight, worth a quick visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saadian Tombs

Saadian Tombs
Next to Kasbah Mosque, off rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech, Morocco
670912536
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Saadian Tombs like an insider
Top Rated
$37*
and up
Marrakech Discovery Tour
Ranked #42 of 139 things to do in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Saadian Tombs are located just outside Marrakech and were constructed during the reign of Sultan Ahmad al-Mansur in the late 16th century. This is the resting place of al-Mansur, his family, and other notable officials from that era. These tombs were discovered in 1917; restoration began shortly thereafter. Today, much of its original splendour has been restored.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“A well preserved sight, worth a quick visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Saadian Tombs as part of a larger tour organised through Thomson. The tombs are beautifully preserved, having been sealed off for many years and only recently reopened to the public. The tombs themselves won't take long to look around but it's a nice quiet spot and worth a visit, especially if its already part of a larger tour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    410
    340
    86
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, England
Top Contributor
432 reviews 432 reviews
279 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
“Saadian Tombs - A bit Disappointing Really”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We specifically made our way to the tombs following some research before our trip and must say we were a little disappointed. Cheap enough to get in ( 10 Dirhams ) the place was restricted in size and although the tombs were clear and precise in where they were laid out, the surrounding architecture was not as good as I would have expected. It is okay but nothing spectacular. Maybe my trip to India earlier this year had raised my expectations when visiting such sights. When inside we also unfortunately visited the same time as a large group and as others have mentioned the viewing areas were extremely busy adding to the disappointment we felt. Indeed the activities of the many cats in the area seemed more interesting than the sight, with a particularly scarred pink ( white fur with blood ) cat getting attacked by the others every few minutes. We headed for the tombs in the middle of the day in very hot weather and although it looked impressive from the outside, the inner area left us a little flat. Maybe that's just me.
One last point is to look out for the stork nest and storks on the tall chimney as you enter the tombs. Look up and you cannot miss them. What a sight.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful buildings - more than worth the 10Dh (1Euro) entry fee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Won't take you long to wander round as they aren't huge but well worth a visit. Try and avoid going in at the same time as a coach as the best viewing points have restricted access so they end up with a queue. There was work going on to improve the attraction but it did not detract from our visit.

Guide can add to the experience as they will tell you what you are looking at - it kind of helps!

Reminded me of some of the mausoleums we saw in Istanbul - intricate stone & wood work with exquisite tiled reliefs.

Something of an oasis to the hustle & bustle of the adjacent streets.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Interesting tombs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Some tombs are inside, some out. Some are above ground, some underground. Princes and princesses. The architecture and tile work is photo worthy. Crowded here, must jostle for views as they are just from the doorways.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful tombs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky to have our guide with us and he told us all about the history of the tombs. Very impressive tombs themselves especially the ornate ceilings made of gold. You'll only need half an hour or so.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saadian Tombs also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Saadian Tombs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saadian Tombs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.