We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive ruins” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Badi Palace

El Badi Palace
Ksibat Nhass, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
627286740
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 61 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Impressive ruins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

impressive ruined palace - basically a massive square inside some huge thick walls. Go to the terrace to watch the storks nesting on the walls, massive birds with incredible nests - they had chicks when we visited. Brilliant to watch hem flying in carrying branches to add to heir nests.
Most of the good stuff in the palace is in the ruins and rebuilt maze of underground passages at the back of the wall next to the toilets.
There is a choice of entry prices 10dh for he palace and 20 dh to visit the palace and also the 'minibar' - we took the 20dh ticket but basically the 'minibar' is a small wooden staircase! That's it! - full stop! - nothing else! a small wooden staircase that Immams stand on when they preach - why looking at this is valued the same as visiting a palace I don't know but my advise is don't bother as you will be disappointed (unless you are a connoisseur of small wooden staircases.
I actually took a point off my review for visiting it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    238
    122
    34
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting and great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great place to visit - if you like ruins. Lots of history and some wonderful views from the roof terrace.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ruins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is effectively a ruined palace,but even in it's ruined state it is truly stunning. I would recommend buying the ticket for both the palace and Minbar (stepped pulpit) upon entry, our guidebook (which we read once we were already in there) told us that in addition to the Minbar there were also chambers to explore, however we didn't feel we missed out too much (and chose not to walk back to the kiosk to purchase the additional tickets). We spent a good hour wandering around, even in it's ruined state there are still many beautiful parts, if ruins aren't really your thing then you may be disappointed, but the views from the roof and getting up so close and personal with the storks that nest on the palace walls were superb. We loved watching the storks flying around, truly amazing. We found this a very beautiful and tranquil place to visit, the toilets were OK, there was no cafe or anywhere to buy water (unless there was one in the Minbar part) so take plenty of water, we were caught out when temperatures topped 40! There are English signs, although the small exhibition on the history of the area was not in English. We were approached by a guide (not sure if official or unofficial) whom we refused. We were quite happy to wander and the signs provided enough explanation. A lovely place to visit in Marrakech. I imagine that Children would also like exploring this place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“ruin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Some might be disappointed but this is an impressive complex all be it there is a need for a lot of imagination. The sunken gardens and pools still gives an idea of the elegance that must have existed here. We didn't feel we would have missed out not seeing the minibar but if your there I suppose you have to.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A huge ruine and a "Minbar" we missed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was the only place that disappointed us. There is hardly anything left worth to see of this old huge palace,
The most admirable items where the storks with their nests on the walls.

We do admit that we didn't see the 'Minbar'. When at the entry, you're asked to pay 10 or 20 Dirham, we didn't know that the Minbar was there and that that was the difference between paying 10 or 20 Dirham. In Morocco, without a guide, you have to know t all by yourself, not much tourist information to tell you what to see or what you'd miss...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Badi Palace also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to El Badi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Badi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.