We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stork viewing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Badi Palace

El Badi Palace
Ksibat Nhass, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 140 things to do in Marrakech
Attraction details
EssexUK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stork viewing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

It was very quiet and calm there with stork nests perched on top of all the walls. You could really imagine what the palace would have been like.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    320
    160
    45
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

well worth a visit. Bahia palace is pretty as there are good examples of Moroccan art (tiles and mosaics). The Badi palace doesn't have this as it is mainly ruin but it is still beautiful and there are small underground tunnels you can walk through. There are information plaques around the palace that tell you what each part of the palace was used for and the view from the top is amazing!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Amazed by its size”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were going to leave this out of our tour but I am glad we didn't. It has come into disrepair but I think there are efforts to fix it up. The immense size of this was what surprised me the most. It was much bigger than I had anticipated. Although it is mostly just old walls, it is still quite interesting to walk around to imagine what it was in its heyday. Also, should you enjoy getting close to nature, you will be able to do so by walking along the top and observing the many White Storks nesting atop.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“El Badi Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great views over Marrakesh from the terrace, especially of all the storks nests. Very tranquil after the hustle and bustle of the city - nice to be able to wander at leisure. Well worth the entrance fee 10 MAD each. (less than £1)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nj
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This palace no longer has the glory of the magnificent palace it once was, it is like walking around old ruins. The view of the mountains from the terrace is beautiful

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Badi Palace also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to El Badi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Badi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.