We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location to stay in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kaiss

Save Saved
You added Riad Kaiss to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Kaiss
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   65 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice location to stay in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

nice place, wonderful room (I had room nr.3, with its own terrace, where you can have breakfast if you like), bathroom is ok, even if i would have appreciated to have a more modern mixer for the shower! great romantic experience. food ok, as a restaurant could probably improve, but it was romantic to eat alone on the roof terrance! enjoyed really my stay in marrakech!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    17
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
20
65
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

An oais of calm where the staff could not do enough for you. Hajiba and Hayat were the perfect hosts and I felt like a member of the family.
Beautiful decor, gorgeous courtyard garden and terrace and spotless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Riad is so beautiful. Staff welcoming and helpful. Amazing garden inside and cute little pool. Breakfast at rooftop. Peaceful to sleep. My 2rooms with private terrace was just breathtaking. Dinner was ok not that special for me but served beautifully. Little piece of heaven! Full of roses everywhere! Loved it! Highly recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hayat and her staff were so warm and helpful that we can't wait to return. Nothing was too much trouble including a very late, and delicious, meal on the evening of our arrival. It was so quiet and peaceful that we eventually asked if we were the only guests but apparently all 9 rooms were occupied! We rarely encountered any other guests during our stay though and it felt as if we had the whole place to ourselves

Breakfasts were leisurely and taken wherever we wanted in the Riad and on most days we basked in the morning sunshine on the roof terrace. There was always a warm welcome whenever we returned to the riad after a day in the busy souks and a bottle of smooth, Morrocan Syrah was the perfect way to relax before dinner. Although we ate at various places, the dinner at the riad was truly memorable as we sipped wine on the verandah as the staff set up the dining room and lit the fire for us (it was chilly that evening).

Our room was fit for a honeymoon couple with rose petals on the beds. Some luxurious shower gel, body lotion and hair products, in pretty glass and silver bottles, were supplied in the bathroom and the shower was wonderfully powerful and refreshing.

We have both travelled quite extensively and have experienced 5 star hotels and Riad Kaiss was definitely a 5 star experience. We felt totally pampered during the whole of our stay and recommend Riad Kaiss highly - especially for a romantic break or honeymoon, although, alas we were two female friends without partners!

Thank you to all at Riad Kaiss. See you again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

...the riad Kaiss is amazing. You step from a litte side alley into a garden with fully matured trees, fountains filled with rose petals and birds singing. But the best thing about the Kaiss is its staff - always smiling and helpful, always there to cater to one's wishes. Whether is bringing the breakfast to the roof terrace because the view there is just spectacular (and that's three flights of stairs) or booking a excursion to the desert - they manage it all impeccably and better then any hotel I have ever stayed in. My roof top abode - room number 9 - came with a terrace and a separte little sitting room with fire place. Liked the hamman as well - including the massage which was deeply relaxing. Location is good - for the original medina hustle and bustle - all you need to do is to step outside. Trouble is - once you are in Riad Kaiss - you do not want to leave....

Room Tip: Room Number 9 - for the penthouse experience and the roof top view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This Riad and its staff was an absolute wonderful experience!!! I have never felt so welcome and taken care of before! Many hotels write that they care about their guests but don't. Not so here: Hayat (the manager) and her staff are truly great and extremely friendly and take care of everything, immediately! Nothing (big or small) gets forgotten and every transport and trip they organized just worked like a charm. You just tell her what you need and it gets done, no need to double check.

The food is great too and for breakfast they have a Nespresso machine if you want to. You can have your meal either in the courtyard where it is cool during the day, the roof terrace from where you can see the sunset or one of the wonderfully hidden alcoves.
I had a suite (nr 3), which was bright and sunny and a private terrace which is great, you can retreat there and have dinner or breakfast if you want to. The bathroom was spacious but a bit dark, the toilet rather small (and I'm not a big person) but overall, I felt very comfortable in the room.
The location is in the Medina (pedestrian area) and you will have to walk a bit (1-2 minutes) to get to a taxi etc. Equally, since many of the houses around it are private you may hear a bit of noise (music or other) in the evening, but it is never disturbing.
Overall it was a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Amid the bustling hubub of Marrackech's labyrinth of dusty streets on a side alley lies a sturdy, studded wooden door.... the gateway to the Riad Kaiss; paradise of calm. From the moment we arrived, everything was perfect in the RIad. We had the warmest, friendliest welcome we have ever received in any hotel, and were sat down in a secluded corner to drink some soothing mint tea. The staff we professional, kind and attentive for the duration of our stay, nothing was too much trouble! We were made to feel truly welcome. The room was beautiful, and decorated with fresh rose petals every day. The toiletries were actually excellent quality, normally I hate hotel toiletries! The Riad itself was a small paradise within a city that never sleeps. The riad square had the calming sounds of water and birds, there were secluded areas to sit, drink and eat, or simply laze and snooze all over the riad. For breakfast, lunch and dinner you had the choice of eating on your private terrace, the rooftop terrace or one of many secluded spots around the rIad. Our first night there, we chose to eat in the main dining room, which took our breath away. We were sat in front of a roaring fire, by candlelight within a grand, intricately decorated room and next to a huge, beautiful doorway which lead to a small terrace overlooking the riad's square- absolutely beautiful! We are both in to our food in a big way, and the food in this riad was cooked to perfection. Whether we ate for lunch or dinner, everything was perfect. Although we chose to explore different foods around the city, I would have happily eaten in this riad every single day!

As part of our honeymoon we had a private meal on our terrace. Whilst we were relaxing in their hammam spa, they decorated our room in preparation for our own private, romantic meal. The staff made such a huge effort to ensure that everything was perfect- and it truly was! We will never forget that beautiful evening. They decorated our room and balcony with petals, from the bottom step all the way to the toilet seat- I have never seen so many rose petals and candles, it was so romantic. They constructed the word 'congratulations' out of foil and displayed it in part of our room, surrounded by more petals and candles, they decorated our terrace with yet more petals, candles and a lovely dinner service. We had a yummy dinner with excellent service.

We would highly recommend this riad if you want a friendly, romantic, calm retreat in a perfect location for exploring the city!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kaiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kaiss

Address: 65 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kaiss 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the harem of the Favourite, Riad Kaiss is one of Marrakech's grandest traditional riads and boutique hotels. Located steps from the Djema el Fnaa on a quiet side street, 9 luxurious bedrooms and suites, spa, hammam, restaurant, cooking classes, chauffeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Kaiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kaiss Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kaiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.