We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Honeymoon at Riad Kaiss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kaiss

Save Saved
You added Riad Kaiss to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 11 more sites!
Riad Kaiss
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   65 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #250 of 1,032 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our Honeymoon at Riad Kaiss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Amid the bustling hubub of Marrackech's labyrinth of dusty streets on a side alley lies a sturdy, studded wooden door.... the gateway to the Riad Kaiss; paradise of calm. From the moment we arrived, everything was perfect in the RIad. We had the warmest, friendliest welcome we have ever received in any hotel, and were sat down in a secluded corner to drink some soothing mint tea. The staff we professional, kind and attentive for the duration of our stay, nothing was too much trouble! We were made to feel truly welcome. The room was beautiful, and decorated with fresh rose petals every day. The toiletries were actually excellent quality, normally I hate hotel toiletries! The Riad itself was a small paradise within a city that never sleeps. The riad square had the calming sounds of water and birds, there were secluded areas to sit, drink and eat, or simply laze and snooze all over the riad. For breakfast, lunch and dinner you had the choice of eating on your private terrace, the rooftop terrace or one of many secluded spots around the rIad. Our first night there, we chose to eat in the main dining room, which took our breath away. We were sat in front of a roaring fire, by candlelight within a grand, intricately decorated room and next to a huge, beautiful doorway which lead to a small terrace overlooking the riad's square- absolutely beautiful! We are both in to our food in a big way, and the food in this riad was cooked to perfection. Whether we ate for lunch or dinner, everything was perfect. Although we chose to explore different foods around the city, I would have happily eaten in this riad every single day!

As part of our honeymoon we had a private meal on our terrace. Whilst we were relaxing in their hammam spa, they decorated our room in preparation for our own private, romantic meal. The staff made such a huge effort to ensure that everything was perfect- and it truly was! We will never forget that beautiful evening. They decorated our room and balcony with petals, from the bottom step all the way to the toilet seat- I have never seen so many rose petals and candles, it was so romantic. They constructed the word 'congratulations' out of foil and displayed it in part of our room, surrounded by more petals and candles, they decorated our terrace with yet more petals, candles and a lovely dinner service. We had a yummy dinner with excellent service.

We would highly recommend this riad if you want a friendly, romantic, calm retreat in a perfect location for exploring the city!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    16
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
19
61
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

accidentally my review for here went to riad el mansour , will post it here soon all I can say is its wonderful here
rooms are beautiful , in the centre , quiet and best of all the nicest people you could meet nothing is too difficult and even the cat is friendly.

Room Tip: room 3 perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and after a short ride from the airport in our pre-arranged car, were met by a porter with a handcart who led us into the streets of the Medina.. after a short journey down narrow alleys, we arrived at the front door of the Riad. As it was my wife's birthday weekend, they had upgraded our deluxe room to a private suite, so we had our own private terrace and a really nice room with four poster bed.

This Riad is a classic - beautiful garden courtyards which are a genuine oasis from the madness and chaos of the souks, and Hajiba and her colleague Hayat were kindness personified.. they were genuinely concerned that everything should be perfect and nothing was too much trouble; and when my wife really had to have fresh strawberries to have with her birthday champagne, a phone call was made by Hayat and they were delivered to the room within 30 minutes.

It's also very well situated for visits to the souks and other key locations; only a few minutes walk from Bahia Palace and the Jamaa el Fna.

Our room was beautiful - traditional furnishings and decorations, and a very comfortable bed where we slept very soundly. We had one problem on our first night when the hot water supply failed to our room, but after some discussion with the night porter (who had tried unsuccessfully to fix it) we were directed to use the Hammam near to our room for showers....

The food was good, well prepared and very fresh and can be had in the dining room or on the terrace. All the staff are very friendly, and make every effort to make sure you have exactly what you need.

Thoroughly recommended - we will be back again when we get the chance and I know that the welcome will be genuine all over again, we feel part of the family now.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just got back from my second visit to Marrakech and Riad Kaiss – it felt like coming home. An oasis in the Medina. The rooms are all beautiful, individual and comfortable. The courtyard is peaceful and vibrant with color. When you arrive at the riad you are welcomed by friendly staff and served mint tea and homemade cookies. Hayat, the concierge is wonderful and warm and will do anything to make your stay something special. Nothing is to much trouble.
It's so wonderful after a day walking around this amazing city to get back to somewhere like this. In the evenings they light lanterns and play classical music that floats into the velvety night. In the background the sound of running water from the fountain and birdsong. Heavenly! They serve lovely food that you can have served on one of the terraces or in the drawing room in front of a fire. Breakfast is yummy, with fresh juice, fruit salad and homemade yoghurt! And served on the top terrace with a view of the rooftops in the Medina and the Atlas mountains in the distance it's magic.
I can't wait to go back. And one things for sure I'll be staying at Riad Kaiss – my home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

After a long trip from Southern Morocco, it was a joy to find this enchanting Ryad, greeted with a wonderful garden & charming receptionist. We enjoyed the roof walk, the Muslim Daily prayer & relaxing but private roof pool
For all the beauty & charm of this lovely riad, a more purpose built hotel deserves this kind of tariff, and a non-working heater made the cold winter nights almost unbearable ( they didn't have a other room) , a repeat stay not considerable, and denied a better overall rating

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Riad Kaiss, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other travellers. We know how important it is to get things right on any trip and holiday, made more important on a special occasion. We have replaced the faulty heater, and remain sorry that we were unable to provide you the level of service you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our best recommendations for this ultimate adorable Riad in the center of Marrakesh. The Riad is really fantastic – an experience of beautiful décor, relaxation and service. It has great rooms, adorable courtyards and an amazing roof terrace with a stunning view. Classic Marrakesh style when it is best. The hosts Hayat and Hajiba are very kind and provide you with a really nice and personal service. All in all – a stay at this Riad is a memorable experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed in the Riad Kaiss for 5 nights and would thoroughly recommend it. We were keen to visit Marrakech but were also looking for a relaxing holiday, this isn't the easiest to find in Marrakech! The Riad was the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of the busy medina.

We booked the Kaiss Suite as we were keen to have some space in which to relax and it is definitely worth the extra money! Breakfast on your private terrace every morning with complimentary tea every afternoon in beautiful surroundings ensured a totally relaxing 5 days. All the staff were extremely friendly, particularly Hayat who met us so warmly when we arrived and was so helpful with any questions we had. The whole trip was brilliant and the Riad Kaiss was a the perfect retreat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kaiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kaiss

Also Known As:
Riad Kaiss Hotel Marrakech
Riad Kaiss Hotel
Address: 65 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 1,032 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kaiss 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the harem of the Favourite, Riad Kaiss is one of Marrakech's grandest traditional riads and boutique hotels. Located steps from the Djema el Fnaa on a quiet side street, 9 luxurious bedrooms and suites, spa, hammam, restaurant, cooking classes, chauffeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Escapio, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Kaiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kaiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.