We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kaiss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Kaiss to your Saves list
Riad Kaiss
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   65 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #277 of 1,057 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just got back from my second visit to Marrakech and Riad Kaiss – it felt like coming home. An oasis in the Medina. The rooms are all beautiful, individual and comfortable. The courtyard is peaceful and vibrant with color. When you arrive at the riad you are welcomed by friendly staff and served mint tea and homemade cookies. Hayat, the concierge is wonderful and warm and will do anything to make your stay something special. Nothing is to much trouble.
It's so wonderful after a day walking around this amazing city to get back to somewhere like this. In the evenings they light lanterns and play classical music that floats into the velvety night. In the background the sound of running water from the fountain and birdsong. Heavenly! They serve lovely food that you can have served on one of the terraces or in the drawing room in front of a fire. Breakfast is yummy, with fresh juice, fruit salad and homemade yoghurt! And served on the top terrace with a view of the rooftops in the Medina and the Atlas mountains in the distance it's magic.
I can't wait to go back. And one things for sure I'll be staying at Riad Kaiss – my home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    18
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
20
69
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

After a long trip from Southern Morocco, it was a joy to find this enchanting Ryad, greeted with a wonderful garden & charming receptionist. We enjoyed the roof walk, the Muslim Daily prayer & relaxing but private roof pool
For all the beauty & charm of this lovely riad, a more purpose built hotel deserves this kind of tariff, and a non-working heater made the cold winter nights almost unbearable ( they didn't have a other room) , a repeat stay not considerable, and denied a better overall rating

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Riad Kaiss, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other travellers. We know how important it is to get things right on any trip and holiday, made more important on a special occasion. We have replaced the faulty heater, and remain sorry that we were unable to provide you the level of service you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our best recommendations for this ultimate adorable Riad in the center of Marrakesh. The Riad is really fantastic – an experience of beautiful décor, relaxation and service. It has great rooms, adorable courtyards and an amazing roof terrace with a stunning view. Classic Marrakesh style when it is best. The hosts Hayat and Hajiba are very kind and provide you with a really nice and personal service. All in all – a stay at this Riad is a memorable experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed in the Riad Kaiss for 5 nights and would thoroughly recommend it. We were keen to visit Marrakech but were also looking for a relaxing holiday, this isn't the easiest to find in Marrakech! The Riad was the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of the busy medina.

We booked the Kaiss Suite as we were keen to have some space in which to relax and it is definitely worth the extra money! Breakfast on your private terrace every morning with complimentary tea every afternoon in beautiful surroundings ensured a totally relaxing 5 days. All the staff were extremely friendly, particularly Hayat who met us so warmly when we arrived and was so helpful with any questions we had. The whole trip was brilliant and the Riad Kaiss was a the perfect retreat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a reasonably good stay here, but probably felt overall we could have found somewhere with better customer service and more of a sense of luxury given the fairly steep prices:

* the staff were friendly enough, but weren't particularly attentive - there's no reception desk, only an office (often empty), so often had to ask kitchen staff to go and find people, which was a bit awkward!
* quality of breakfast was quite variable - and the bread we were given was a bit stale on a couple of occasions
* I was surprised that there didn't seem to be a restaurant up and running downstairs for lunch or dinner - we asked about this on our 1st day, and were told it wasn't possible (and I never saw anyone eating there for the rest of our 5 day trip)
*location in medina is good (if a bit confusing initially), and the overall feel is quite charming and historic
* that said, i felt that the decor overall could use a lick of paint - and downstairs was a bit dusty
*the swimming pool is ok for a quick cool off, but it's pretty small!
*we nearly missed our flight because the clocks had changed - this was obviously our responsibility, but I'd had a fairly lengthy talk with the receptionist earlier in the morning about what time our flight was and what time the taxi should collect us, and she didn't think to mention it -or make us aware subsequently when the taxi was waiting downstairs!
* spa treatment in the Hammam - the steam in there wasn't working, so it was a bit disappointing that they didn't make us aware of this beforehand

Overall, I probably wouldn't recommend this place - it's pretty pricey, and I felt that the service and overall finish didn't really justify it. We stopped off at Dar Si Said (nearby) for a coffee and it felt a lot more luxurious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

From the moment of booking our stay at Riad Kaiss, we found not only did everything run smoothly, from the driver picking us up from the airport, to the day we left, but Hayat and her team were truly outstanding. We were greeted very warmly on our arrival, (fairly late in the evening), our luggage taken care of, we were given mint tea and made a fresh home-cooked delicious meal. During our whole stay we were treated like royalty, and whatever your wish or enquiry, nothing is too much trouble, and all the staff are friendly and attentive without being intrusive. The Riad absolutely lives up to expectations, it was wonderful to wake up to the peace of the courtyard and the sound of birdsong, and a fantastic place to chill out after a busy day out. We had breakfast and dinner on site and the food was always delicious.
Hayat and her team were brilliant at organizing and suggesting excursions/day's out etc, and the drivers and guide's we had were also extremely good, knowledgeable, friendly and in some cases, felt more like bodyguards, in the busy streets where there was occasionally some unwanted attention. As I was travelling with my Mum, as two lone women these gentlemen Hayat arranged to take us on trips were invaluable.
All in all, we had a fantastic time, had no complaints at all, and were thoroughly impressed with the charm of both the Riad and it's staff. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. I will definitely be returning some day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This riad is in the southern part of the medina. It is done out so authentically in a Moroccan style. There are only 9 bedrooms so you are assured of a professional and personal service. It is well placed for both the centre of Marrakech and also the sights on the south side, perfect. Once you're inside the walls the hurlyburly ceases and there is only the fountain to break the silence. A beautiful building combined with caring staff and not bad value either.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kaiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kaiss

Address: 65 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 1,057 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kaiss 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the harem of the Favourite, Riad Kaiss is one of Marrakech's grandest traditional riads and boutique hotels. Located steps from the Djema el Fnaa on a quiet side street, 9 luxurious bedrooms and suites, spa, hammam, restaurant, cooking classes, chauffeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kaiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kaiss Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kaiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.