We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kaiss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kaiss to your Saves list
Riad Kaiss
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   65 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #310 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“True Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stunning traditional Riad with beautiful cool courtyard full of tumbling climbing plants and flowers, stunning traditional tiled decoration and furniture. Roof terraces with small pool and views over the city to the mountains beyond. The staff are very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a corporate style hotel look else were, If you are looking for a true boutique hotel experience in Marrakech this is an excellent choice. Slightly off the beaten track down a side street, not directly accessible by car/taxi, easy to walk to the main square, or to get a taxi from the end of the street, (your bags can arrive and leave by hand cart). Breakfast is fabulous! So peaceful we slept well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    21
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
25
83
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This riad is very worn out and no maintenance at all! Bad lights in the rooms and even have no light at their main door. We asked the staff to repair a light bulb on our terrace and it is never happened. Our bathtub has water leakage during shower. Their countyard and our terrace have full of weeds that they should send a gardener to do something. The breakfast wasn't as good as the others standard riads but we had a warm welcome from the manager in this riad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Riad Kaiss, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We are naturally saddened by this review as we do not feel it reflects the efforts of our staff or our management to make sure that every guest is well looked after.

We have written to this guest both via this forum and via email for further clarification as they were very positive to us when they were with us, as well as in their guest feedback that they left with tips for the staff. We have heard nothing back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was a long time ago at Riad Kaiss but anyway wanted to write about it because it was so special!

The service was amazing and the stuff was very helpful.

The rooms are very nice decorated and comfortable!

The tea time is amazing.

Located in the center of Marrakech, is a big contrast once you enter this paradise in the middle of the dirty and dark center of the city!

I highly recomend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

From the reservation, to the transportation , to the hotel services, we were overly impressed with the attention to detail and customer service from Owner, Eben, and his staff, especially Hayat and Hajiba. Rarely are expectations met, much less exceeded, but Riad Kaiss did just that. They negotiated a fair rate and booked our car and driver from Tangier, met us to help with luggage after hours, fed us a late dinner upon arrival, and treated us like royalty during our stay. We wanted for nothing, and were made to feel so welcome we didnt want to leave. Our suite was beautiful, as was the rest of the riad. A tranquil paradise juxtaposing the busy Marrakech squares . After experiencing food poisoning from a local restaurant, Hayat and her staff had a doctor in our room to treat us within 15 minutes and watched over us like their own families. We have never experienced such great service and caring people as Hayat and Hajiba in 20 years of international travels, and would recommend a visit to this little piece of paradise to everyone.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Four of us stayed here recently. Our welcome was very warm from Hayat - thank you! Hayat and the rest of the staff made our stay very comfortable and could not do enough for us. We treated the riad as our own home! The team were very helpful with making reservations for us and negotiating on our behalf. Breakfast in the courtyard everyday was a real treat. We left feeling very relaxed which is rare for a city break.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at the lovely Riad Kaiss for one night in between our flight and our next stop at the Atlas Mountains.

If you arrive by car, it is best reached from a small square at the end of Avenue Hommane Al Faouaki along Rue Riad Zitoun el Kdim through the Souks. There are ample of porters stationed at the square and for 30 Dirhams they’ll take your luggage on a small wagon to the Riad (3 minutes’ walk). They also know exactly where the Riad is located and that is very helpful if you’re a first timer.

Jemaa el Fna, the Palais de la Bahia, the Jewish market and the main Souks are also only a 5 minutes’ walk away, the Koutoubia Mosque is maybe a 10 minutes’ stroll. For all other points of interest i.e. Jardin Majorelle we took a taxi (50 Dirhams).

The Riad is an oasis of peace and tranquility. It has several floors with a Hammam, a small pool with deckchairs and several terraces for relaxing, reading, etc. Breakfast was served in an alcove inside the courtyard and contained everything from eggs, pancakes, cereal, bread, fresh fruits, etc. Very yummy.

Our ground-floor room was not very spacious, but very nicely furnished with passion for detail. It was very clean and fresh. The room had an a/c which we didn’t use, bottled water and fresh fruit as well as very nice shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and soap in typical Moroccan metal bottles.

The service was attentive and always with a smile. We didn’t see many staff around, but when we needed them, they were there!

I wish we could have stayed longer and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Riad Kaiss, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your views with this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at this property back in November and spent four fabulous days at this Riad. We came to experience a very friendly and helpful staff but only learned their focus on customer service once already back in Germany. We did buy a carpet on the local market to be shipped to Germany what turned out to be a nightmare. It was the team and management of this property that went the extra mile to help us get our purchase to Germany - an action, that took over two months until we finally had the carpet in our house - thanks to all the efforts and support from the Management and team of this property who dealt with the owner of the shop back and forth and really showed a genuine care.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#98 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#31 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riyad El Cadi
Riyad El Cadi
#92 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#32 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#29 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kaiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kaiss

Address: 65 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kaiss 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the harem of the Favourite, Riad Kaiss is one of Marrakech's grandest traditional riads and boutique hotels. Located steps from the Djema el Fnaa on a quiet side street, 9 luxurious bedrooms and suites, spa, hammam, restaurant, cooking classes, chauffeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Kaiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kaiss Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kaiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.