We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and cute!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kaiss

Save Saved
You added Riad Kaiss to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Kaiss
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   65 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small and cute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was a long time ago at Riad Kaiss but anyway wanted to write about it because it was so special!

The service was amazing and the stuff was very helpful.

The rooms are very nice decorated and comfortable!

The tea time is amazing.

Located in the center of Marrakech, is a big contrast once you enter this paradise in the middle of the dirty and dark center of the city!

I highly recomend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    17
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
20
65
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

From the reservation, to the transportation , to the hotel services, we were overly impressed with the attention to detail and customer service from Owner, Eben, and his staff, especially Hayat and Hajiba. Rarely are expectations met, much less exceeded, but Riad Kaiss did just that. They negotiated a fair rate and booked our car and driver from Tangier, met us to help with luggage after hours, fed us a late dinner upon arrival, and treated us like royalty during our stay. We wanted for nothing, and were made to feel so welcome we didnt want to leave. Our suite was beautiful, as was the rest of the riad. A tranquil paradise juxtaposing the busy Marrakech squares . After experiencing food poisoning from a local restaurant, Hayat and her staff had a doctor in our room to treat us within 15 minutes and watched over us like their own families. We have never experienced such great service and caring people as Hayat and Hajiba in 20 years of international travels, and would recommend a visit to this little piece of paradise to everyone.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Four of us stayed here recently. Our welcome was very warm from Hayat - thank you! Hayat and the rest of the staff made our stay very comfortable and could not do enough for us. We treated the riad as our own home! The team were very helpful with making reservations for us and negotiating on our behalf. Breakfast in the courtyard everyday was a real treat. We left feeling very relaxed which is rare for a city break.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at the lovely Riad Kaiss for one night in between our flight and our next stop at the Atlas Mountains.

If you arrive by car, it is best reached from a small square at the end of Avenue Hommane Al Faouaki along Rue Riad Zitoun el Kdim through the Souks. There are ample of porters stationed at the square and for 30 Dirhams they’ll take your luggage on a small wagon to the Riad (3 minutes’ walk). They also know exactly where the Riad is located and that is very helpful if you’re a first timer.

Jemaa el Fna, the Palais de la Bahia, the Jewish market and the main Souks are also only a 5 minutes’ walk away, the Koutoubia Mosque is maybe a 10 minutes’ stroll. For all other points of interest i.e. Jardin Majorelle we took a taxi (50 Dirhams).

The Riad is an oasis of peace and tranquility. It has several floors with a Hammam, a small pool with deckchairs and several terraces for relaxing, reading, etc. Breakfast was served in an alcove inside the courtyard and contained everything from eggs, pancakes, cereal, bread, fresh fruits, etc. Very yummy.

Our ground-floor room was not very spacious, but very nicely furnished with passion for detail. It was very clean and fresh. The room had an a/c which we didn’t use, bottled water and fresh fruit as well as very nice shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and soap in typical Moroccan metal bottles.

The service was attentive and always with a smile. We didn’t see many staff around, but when we needed them, they were there!

I wish we could have stayed longer and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Riad Kaiss, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your views with this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at this property back in November and spent four fabulous days at this Riad. We came to experience a very friendly and helpful staff but only learned their focus on customer service once already back in Germany. We did buy a carpet on the local market to be shipped to Germany what turned out to be a nightmare. It was the team and management of this property that went the extra mile to help us get our purchase to Germany - an action, that took over two months until we finally had the carpet in our house - thanks to all the efforts and support from the Management and team of this property who dealt with the owner of the shop back and forth and really showed a genuine care.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Riad Kaiss ist the most beautiful place in Marakesh! We stayed there 10 days and enjoyed the tranquillity of this place in the middle of the busy Medina. The inner courtyard is a jewel, it is quiet, shadowy, with beautiful plants, fountains and the floor with nice tiles.
Our room was a dream like in 1001 night! Each day we got a decoration with flowers and a poem for the night.
The hotel has so many nice places to be, like two courtyards, a small pool, top of the roof, where it is specially in the night beautiful.

The staff is so nice and helpful in all topics that we are now already missing them all. Breakfast an dinner was very good, but maybe a little bit overpriced, but normally we had our dinner in any beatiful restaurants or the big place, so this was no problem for us. The price for the room is fine.

So next time we are going to Marrakesh, we are for sure staying again in this beautiful Riad!

Room Tip: We had one of the cheaper rooms (Nr. 8) which is beside the inner courtyard. It had the big advantag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Beautiful riad with bad managment, a hammam that does not work, awful breakfast, mediocre dinners, not a single cosy living room, mediocre bedlinnen, bad bathroom amenities, bad lights in the rooms and a ridiculous price. In MArrakech there are many charming riads at very good price, they have smaller patios, yes, but warm teams wishful to please the guests and to generate a friendly atmosphere, nothing of that was at Riad Kaiss .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Riad Kaiss, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
This guest stayed with us for 13 nights. A friend of hers also joined her in another room. She was upgraded on check in to a suite. She said she was a writer so we organised a space for her to write and have quiet each day. We organised an arabic language tutor to come each day to give her language lessons. She complained about her hammam not being hot enough so we didn't charge her for it (we heat the hammam on request, and it takes at least 4 hours to heat, but she didn't want to wait). She ate dinner with us 5 times and breakfast with us 13 times, which is surprising given how bad she says it was in her review.

From the moment she arrived she was complaining. She wanted to re-negotiate the price and argued with us each day about this. We had offered to house her niece and her brother for a weekend at a another property of ours at a very discounted rate because they couldn't afford to stay at Riad Kaiss, and we wanted to help the family have a nice chance to have a holiday together. We offered that we would move them across from the other property to Riad Kaiss if there was space. They said they couldn't afford it, so did not come. Rather than taking this as a nice gesture on our part, this guest insisted that we offer her the rate we had offered to her niece for the other property and our lowest category of room at the other property. We tried to explain that neither the room nor the places were comparable. Her friend joined her in the daily complaints, and never once took breakfast or any other meal with us/her--leaving this guest to eat alone for each meal.

She then demanded at least a 50% discount or she would write about us on TripAdvisor. After that she asked us for a good deal to extend her stay further! We were surprised given the daily complaints. Given her apparent level of dissatisfaction it is hard to understand why she just didn't decide to leave early. We certainly wouldn't have stopped her or her friend from going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kaiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kaiss

Address: 65 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kaiss 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the harem of the Favourite, Riad Kaiss is one of Marrakech's grandest traditional riads and boutique hotels. Located steps from the Djema el Fnaa on a quiet side street, 9 luxurious bedrooms and suites, spa, hammam, restaurant, cooking classes, chauffeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Kaiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kaiss Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kaiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.