We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kaiss

Save Saved
You added Riad Kaiss to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riad Kaiss
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   65 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at the lovely Riad Kaiss for one night in between our flight and our next stop at the Atlas Mountains.

If you arrive by car, it is best reached from a small square at the end of Avenue Hommane Al Faouaki along Rue Riad Zitoun el Kdim through the Souks. There are ample of porters stationed at the square and for 30 Dirhams they’ll take your luggage on a small wagon to the Riad (3 minutes’ walk). They also know exactly where the Riad is located and that is very helpful if you’re a first timer.

Jemaa el Fna, the Palais de la Bahia, the Jewish market and the main Souks are also only a 5 minutes’ walk away, the Koutoubia Mosque is maybe a 10 minutes’ stroll. For all other points of interest i.e. Jardin Majorelle we took a taxi (50 Dirhams).

The Riad is an oasis of peace and tranquility. It has several floors with a Hammam, a small pool with deckchairs and several terraces for relaxing, reading, etc. Breakfast was served in an alcove inside the courtyard and contained everything from eggs, pancakes, cereal, bread, fresh fruits, etc. Very yummy.

Our ground-floor room was not very spacious, but very nicely furnished with passion for detail. It was very clean and fresh. The room had an a/c which we didn’t use, bottled water and fresh fruit as well as very nice shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and soap in typical Moroccan metal bottles.

The service was attentive and always with a smile. We didn’t see many staff around, but when we needed them, they were there!

I wish we could have stayed longer and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Riad Kaiss, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your views with this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    18
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
20
66
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at this property back in November and spent four fabulous days at this Riad. We came to experience a very friendly and helpful staff but only learned their focus on customer service once already back in Germany. We did buy a carpet on the local market to be shipped to Germany what turned out to be a nightmare. It was the team and management of this property that went the extra mile to help us get our purchase to Germany - an action, that took over two months until we finally had the carpet in our house - thanks to all the efforts and support from the Management and team of this property who dealt with the owner of the shop back and forth and really showed a genuine care.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Riad Kaiss ist the most beautiful place in Marakesh! We stayed there 10 days and enjoyed the tranquillity of this place in the middle of the busy Medina. The inner courtyard is a jewel, it is quiet, shadowy, with beautiful plants, fountains and the floor with nice tiles.
Our room was a dream like in 1001 night! Each day we got a decoration with flowers and a poem for the night.
The hotel has so many nice places to be, like two courtyards, a small pool, top of the roof, where it is specially in the night beautiful.

The staff is so nice and helpful in all topics that we are now already missing them all. Breakfast an dinner was very good, but maybe a little bit overpriced, but normally we had our dinner in any beatiful restaurants or the big place, so this was no problem for us. The price for the room is fine.

So next time we are going to Marrakesh, we are for sure staying again in this beautiful Riad!

Room Tip: We had one of the cheaper rooms (Nr. 8) which is beside the inner courtyard. It had the big advantag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Beautiful riad with bad managment, a hammam that does not work, awful breakfast, mediocre dinners, not a single cosy living room, mediocre bedlinnen, bad bathroom amenities, bad lights in the rooms and a ridiculous price. In MArrakech there are many charming riads at very good price, they have smaller patios, yes, but warm teams wishful to please the guests and to generate a friendly atmosphere, nothing of that was at Riad Kaiss .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Riad Kaiss, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
This guest stayed with us for 13 nights. A friend of hers also joined her in another room. She was upgraded on check in to a suite. She said she was a writer so we organised a space for her to write and have quiet each day. We organised an arabic language tutor to come each day to give her language lessons. She complained about her hammam not being hot enough so we didn't charge her for it (we heat the hammam on request, and it takes at least 4 hours to heat, but she didn't want to wait). She ate dinner with us 5 times and breakfast with us 13 times, which is surprising given how bad she says it was in her review.

From the moment she arrived she was complaining. She wanted to re-negotiate the price and argued with us each day about this. We had offered to house her niece and her brother for a weekend at a another property of ours at a very discounted rate because they couldn't afford to stay at Riad Kaiss, and we wanted to help the family have a nice chance to have a holiday together. We offered that we would move them across from the other property to Riad Kaiss if there was space. They said they couldn't afford it, so did not come. Rather than taking this as a nice gesture on our part, this guest insisted that we offer her the rate we had offered to her niece for the other property and our lowest category of room at the other property. We tried to explain that neither the room nor the places were comparable. Her friend joined her in the daily complaints, and never once took breakfast or any other meal with us/her--leaving this guest to eat alone for each meal.

She then demanded at least a 50% discount or she would write about us on TripAdvisor. After that she asked us for a good deal to extend her stay further! We were surprised given the daily complaints. Given her apparent level of dissatisfaction it is hard to understand why she just didn't decide to leave early. We certainly wouldn't have stopped her or her friend from going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraty, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

a fantastic place to stay in marrakech, in every aspect. the hotel itself is charming and gorgeous, and attention to detail is everywhere from tea on arrival to planning the perfect daytrip to the staff's little daily kindnesses. it was my kind of luxury...
i spent a few days here with my best friend, to celebrate his birthday. we booked the 'culture and traditions' package and were thrilled with our pick! it included a cooking class (which was great fun), a trip to essaouira with a couple of pit-stops (one at a vinyard!), a mini-tour of the medina, dinner-for-two in the riad, and best of all? the in-house hammam and pool-side massage! honestly, everything was impeccably done. the staff were so very lovely and welcoming, the riad so quiet and well-designed, the food absolutely top! we had a fantastic stay, and both felt that the riad made our trip. it's not the cheapest place in town, but for a memorable experience, well worth it.
i was so at home here that after my month roaming around the rest of morocco, even though it was so much more expensive as a single than shared with my friend (basically, more than i should have been spending), i decided to come back and spend my last nights here before catching my flight out... it was the best ending possible to a fantastic voyage, the icing on my cake!
thank you again eben and hayat!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Riad Kaiss, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write, and especially for coming back to stay with us a second time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Really lovely riad with very pleasant staff. It had real charm and felt like a haven away from the square. The rooms were lovely and the garden was great to relax in.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Not only is this Riad one of the loveliest you will find, it also has some of the most charming staff you will meet. The decor and design creates a relaxed environment,using many of the traditional tiling and decorative techniques of Morrocan interiors to create a rich and welcoming retreat from the bustling souks and narrow streets of Marrakech.
Breakfast on the roof terrace in February- soaking up the sun and surrounded by plants, birds,and flowers has to be one of the best ways to start the day,- the house cat definitely agreed and was found most mornings sunning herself on a snug little bench on one of the sun terraces. We had dinner a couple of times in the salon, next to an open fire, with a table decorated with candles and roses- so romantic.
The staff were so concerned that we would feel the unseasonable cold as much as they did- despite the fact we had come from subzero London to sunshine and springlike temperatures that hotwater bottles, cookies and milk and extra blankets all appeared for our comfort.
A totally memorable stay, with such kind and friendly people it was hard to leave.
The food too was much better than in many of the neighbouring restaurants we tried. Hard to fault really- my only request would be a full-length mirror in the room, but a small quibble really.
Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which was up on the second level. There is a lovely open settle on the same leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kaiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kaiss

Address: 65 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kaiss 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the harem of the Favourite, Riad Kaiss is one of Marrakech's grandest traditional riads and boutique hotels. Located steps from the Djema el Fnaa on a quiet side street, 9 luxurious bedrooms and suites, spa, hammam, restaurant, cooking classes, chauffeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Kaiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kaiss Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kaiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.