We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad el Ouarda

Riad el Ouarda
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad el Ouarda
Save
You added Riad el Ouarda to your Saves list
5 Derb Taht Sour Lakbir | Quartier Zaouia El Abassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #763 of 1,148 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

We had a great time staying at this riad. The service was excellent as was the home cooked food. Our room was lovely, but it did take some time to get used to the fact that it had no doors, only curtains!! Breakfast was served on the terrace and whenever you could order drinks to have up there too. Having dinner in the riad is a good too. They sorted out all our travel needs and organised taxis, days out when we wanted and at a reasonable cost. I would recomend this riad as it is slightly out of the main area, especially if you are looking to be in the centre but not so to speak. If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay but still have access to everything then this is the place for you!

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank Funnygirl130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

Just returned 2 days ago.We were a group of 14 adults staying for 2 nights to celebrate a 40th birthday for one our group members!The Riad is beautiful and each room( we booked 8) had its own ensuite and own character.The decor inside was lovely and authentically morrocan and alot of the rooms had retained original features like the wooden painted ceiling as in 2 of the suites.(300 years old!)The doors to rooms were hugen wooden carved doors and really beautiful.
Brigitte the hostess was brilliant and had organised a fantastic dinner with live music and belly dancer!The courtyard was decorated with red rose petals and whole courtyard lit up with candles and tealights floating on the courtyard pond!
The breakfast and lunches were usually taken on the terrace which was brilliant as the weather was perfect(20 C) in Dec-not bad at all.The staff were just fantastic as nothing was too much trouble and with 14 of us ordering drinks or snacks at anytime was not a problem especially climbing 3 flights of stairs!!
I woul definitely return as its almost home from home - the service tops any 5 star hotel!
It was about 20 min walk to the main square but worth the walk through the souks and exploring the little alleyways.
Marrakech is a brilliant place with very friendly people,very safe and our celebration was made all the more special by Brigitte and her staff!
Nimi

  • Liked — the peacefulness and calmess when you enter
  • Disliked — lots of stairs to the roof terrace and no natural lights in rooms!
  • Tips/Secrets — book the suites
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2006

I stayed one week in Marrakesh. After the seccond day i got a cold due to an tourist wich refused himself to use a handkerchief in the airplane. That's why i really belong to those "longtime" guests at Riad el Ouarda... i stayed 5 days in my hotelbed and decided to book a seccond room for my girlfriend in order to not infect her with that nasty virus. For my suprise they didn't charged me the seccond room, because they felt so sorry about my cold, wow!!! I simply love this riad: the stuff where so nice to us, organized medicine for me, booked restaurants for us, helped us with good advices about galleries and so one. It's not that sort of commercial kindness you find in 5star hotels, they realy are nice people. Brigitte is a great host. This place got a home for me. The riad is very authentic, a wonderful peace of art without any modern kitsch that you tipically find in many tourist places. The ancient paintings at the walls are realy old, you feel like Sultan in the 5 meter high rooms. The lack of a pool doesn't hurt, all the pools in the Medina are too small, even in the big houses. The bathrooms are equipped with wonderful big showers and bathtubs. The fireplaces in the rooms are made to be used and not only for decoration. In other words: you can cool down and heat up whenever you want. Furthermore they work with another hotel outside the town with a real big pool where you can make a spa day. The food is exellent. As a frequend traveller i really recommend this place. Is it expencive? Well, nothing in Marrakech is cheap (apart from the taxis) and Riad el Ouarda lays in the upper midrange. In comparison to other houses i found the price ok. A litle pearl inside the medina.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank polpor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

I´ve just arrived from a 3 day trip to Marrakech.
I´d booked 3 nights in Riad El Ouarda, but after a problem with our flight we only stayed 2.
I phone them the same evening I was supposed to arrive and they said it was OK.
Once you arrive they give you a map and tell you what to see in Marrakech, they offered us a mint tea, wich we refused, and gently they gave us a bottle of water.
Tha Riad is in the Medina, a bit far from the main sites, what makes it more authentic, and its no problem because if it´s too hot you always can catch a taxi, they are very cheap.
The room was big and nice. It had 2 levels, with the bathroom an a hall dowstairs and the bedroom upstairs, It also has a little place to stay outside in a patio near the access and the stair to go up to the terrace or down to the patio.
The breakfast was really good, consists of orange juice, fruit, bread and cakes, marmelade, butter and coffee or tea. It is served in the terrace.
You can have dinner there too (we didn´t) but we asked for a mint tea and they served it there one evening...A GREAT THING TO DO, you´ll have peace and the sound of birds, views of the mosque...
They helped us lot and made some phone calls to book a table in some restaurants and to the airport because we had lost some luggage.
We left our room after having breakfast and they offered us to keep our luggage and also to retun anytime we want to have some rest or take a shower. We finally did and stay in the afternoon resting in the patio near the pool.
We were surprised that they only charged us the price of the 2 nights stay.
I know it´s quite expensive to pay 120E for a night in Marrakech, and I´m sure you can find a good riad cheaper near the sites, but I think riad el ouarda worths it, I´ve had a wonderfull time ang got what I was looking for, charm, authencity and a magnificent service.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

We have just returned from 4 days at Riad El Ouarda. This place is a fantastic retreat from the town and the ambiance is old, elegant and very restful. Superb food all the time and very nice staff. If you are looking for a short break/long weekend, and don't mind paying a bit more, this is a beautiful riad to stay in. Fantastic roof terrace too. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2005

We toured around the Riads of Marrakesh. El Ouarda has to be the most expensive and "not-worth-the price" riad we've seen. The architecture is stunning. The view from the terrasse is quite amazing. There's no doubt about that. But clearly these are the only 2 things you're paying for. In terms of service El Ouarda doesn't offer more than a 40Euro Riad. They even make you pay for their map! For 150 bucks a night you'd think the welcoming tea is free. No, it isn't. You'll find it on your bill when you leave!
Definately go for the 40Euro riads!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#164 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,489 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#299 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad el Ouarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad el Ouarda

Address: 5 Derb Taht Sour Lakbir | Quartier Zaouia El Abassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #763 of 1,148 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing