We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad and great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad el Ouarda

Save Saved
You added Riad el Ouarda to your Saves list
Riad el Ouarda
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad el Ouarda
5 Derb Taht Sour Lakbir | Quartier Zaouia El Abassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #662 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

Just returned 2 days ago.We were a group of 14 adults staying for 2 nights to celebrate a 40th birthday for one our group members!The Riad is beautiful and each room( we booked 8) had its own ensuite and own character.The decor inside was lovely and authentically morrocan and alot of the rooms had retained original features like the wooden painted ceiling as in 2 of the suites.(300 years old!)The doors to rooms were hugen wooden carved doors and really beautiful.
Brigitte the hostess was brilliant and had organised a fantastic dinner with live music and belly dancer!The courtyard was decorated with red rose petals and whole courtyard lit up with candles and tealights floating on the courtyard pond!
The breakfast and lunches were usually taken on the terrace which was brilliant as the weather was perfect(20 C) in Dec-not bad at all.The staff were just fantastic as nothing was too much trouble and with 14 of us ordering drinks or snacks at anytime was not a problem especially climbing 3 flights of stairs!!
I woul definitely return as its almost home from home - the service tops any 5 star hotel!
It was about 20 min walk to the main square but worth the walk through the souks and exploring the little alleyways.
Marrakech is a brilliant place with very friendly people,very safe and our celebration was made all the more special by Brigitte and her staff!
Nimi

  • Liked — the peacefulness and calmess when you enter
  • Disliked — lots of stairs to the roof terrace and no natural lights in rooms!
  • Tips/Secrets — book the suites
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2006

I stayed one week in Marrakesh. After the seccond day i got a cold due to an tourist wich refused himself to use a handkerchief in the airplane. That's why i really belong to those "longtime" guests at Riad el Ouarda... i stayed 5 days in my hotelbed and decided to book a seccond room for my girlfriend in order to not infect her with that nasty virus. For my suprise they didn't charged me the seccond room, because they felt so sorry about my cold, wow!!! I simply love this riad: the stuff where so nice to us, organized medicine for me, booked restaurants for us, helped us with good advices about galleries and so one. It's not that sort of commercial kindness you find in 5star hotels, they realy are nice people. Brigitte is a great host. This place got a home for me. The riad is very authentic, a wonderful peace of art without any modern kitsch that you tipically find in many tourist places. The ancient paintings at the walls are realy old, you feel like Sultan in the 5 meter high rooms. The lack of a pool doesn't hurt, all the pools in the Medina are too small, even in the big houses. The bathrooms are equipped with wonderful big showers and bathtubs. The fireplaces in the rooms are made to be used and not only for decoration. In other words: you can cool down and heat up whenever you want. Furthermore they work with another hotel outside the town with a real big pool where you can make a spa day. The food is exellent. As a frequend traveller i really recommend this place. Is it expencive? Well, nothing in Marrakech is cheap (apart from the taxis) and Riad el Ouarda lays in the upper midrange. In comparison to other houses i found the price ok. A litle pearl inside the medina.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

I´ve just arrived from a 3 day trip to Marrakech.
I´d booked 3 nights in Riad El Ouarda, but after a problem with our flight we only stayed 2.
I phone them the same evening I was supposed to arrive and they said it was OK.
Once you arrive they give you a map and tell you what to see in Marrakech, they offered us a mint tea, wich we refused, and gently they gave us a bottle of water.
Tha Riad is in the Medina, a bit far from the main sites, what makes it more authentic, and its no problem because if it´s too hot you always can catch a taxi, they are very cheap.
The room was big and nice. It had 2 levels, with the bathroom an a hall dowstairs and the bedroom upstairs, It also has a little place to stay outside in a patio near the access and the stair to go up to the terrace or down to the patio.
The breakfast was really good, consists of orange juice, fruit, bread and cakes, marmelade, butter and coffee or tea. It is served in the terrace.
You can have dinner there too (we didn´t) but we asked for a mint tea and they served it there one evening...A GREAT THING TO DO, you´ll have peace and the sound of birds, views of the mosque...
They helped us lot and made some phone calls to book a table in some restaurants and to the airport because we had lost some luggage.
We left our room after having breakfast and they offered us to keep our luggage and also to retun anytime we want to have some rest or take a shower. We finally did and stay in the afternoon resting in the patio near the pool.
We were surprised that they only charged us the price of the 2 nights stay.
I know it´s quite expensive to pay 120E for a night in Marrakech, and I´m sure you can find a good riad cheaper near the sites, but I think riad el ouarda worths it, I´ve had a wonderfull time ang got what I was looking for, charm, authencity and a magnificent service.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2006

We have just returned from 4 days at Riad El Ouarda. This place is a fantastic retreat from the town and the ambiance is old, elegant and very restful. Superb food all the time and very nice staff. If you are looking for a short break/long weekend, and don't mind paying a bit more, this is a beautiful riad to stay in. Fantastic roof terrace too. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2005

We toured around the Riads of Marrakesh. El Ouarda has to be the most expensive and "not-worth-the price" riad we've seen. The architecture is stunning. The view from the terrasse is quite amazing. There's no doubt about that. But clearly these are the only 2 things you're paying for. In terms of service El Ouarda doesn't offer more than a 40Euro Riad. They even make you pay for their map! For 150 bucks a night you'd think the welcoming tea is free. No, it isn't. You'll find it on your bill when you leave!
Definately go for the 40Euro riads!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad el Ouarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad el Ouarda

Address: 5 Derb Taht Sour Lakbir | Quartier Zaouia El Abassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #662 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia so you can book your Riad el Ouarda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad el Ouarda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.