We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm amongst the chaos of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad el Ouarda

Riad el Ouarda
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad el Ouarda to your Saves list
Riad el Ouarda
5 Derb Taht Sour Lakbir | Quartier Zaouia El Abassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #706 of 1,125 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Birmingham
1 review
“An oasis of calm amongst the chaos of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

We returned from Marrakech last night where we spent our honeymoon for 5 nights (I know you're thinking why is he on his lap top when he has just been on honeymoon!).

The riad absolutely made the trip for us. We both adored Marrakech but you can only really appreciate the manic beauty of the city when you have an opportunity to retreat from it. In terms of the riad itself, it is stunning. All the beautiful, authentic features that you expect of Morocco and a wonderfully serene atmosphere. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and there are loads of other places to relax such as the pool, the side rooms with chess, etc and the great roof terrace.

However, as with all accommodation, it is made or broken by the staff. They made us feel truly welcome and comfortable and were genuinely friendly. They provide incredible food, keep the riad spotless and give priceless advice on how best to get about, how much to tip, etc.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

We just got back from Marrakech last night and spent all four nights at Riad El Ouarda. We really enjoyed our stay. The most striking thing about the riad is the terrace which is a great place to have breakfast. It's huge and there are plenty of nook and crannies so you can find a secluded corner to relax in. The mini suite we stayed in was perfect (Aman I think it was called) it had a nice huge bath and a shower head for quicker bathing. The riad is located near enough to town but is peaceful and quiet, we travelled to and from the central square by mini-taxi at 20Dh (£2 a journey) Although it was winter the riad wasn't cold at all as we used the air con in the evenings (and had a heater) to warm the room a little. Brigette, Muhammad and the stafff there were very friendly and helpful, they arranged some trips and taxis for us when we asked but most of the time left us to our own devices. It was the perfect place to stay. No complaints at all. Would highly recommend. We will be going back next time we are in Morocco.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

We had a great time staying at this riad. The service was excellent as was the home cooked food. Our room was lovely, but it did take some time to get used to the fact that it had no doors, only curtains!! Breakfast was served on the terrace and whenever you could order drinks to have up there too. Having dinner in the riad is a good too. They sorted out all our travel needs and organised taxis, days out when we wanted and at a reasonable cost. I would recomend this riad as it is slightly out of the main area, especially if you are looking to be in the centre but not so to speak. If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay but still have access to everything then this is the place for you!

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

Just returned 2 days ago.We were a group of 14 adults staying for 2 nights to celebrate a 40th birthday for one our group members!The Riad is beautiful and each room( we booked 8) had its own ensuite and own character.The decor inside was lovely and authentically morrocan and alot of the rooms had retained original features like the wooden painted ceiling as in 2 of the suites.(300 years old!)The doors to rooms were hugen wooden carved doors and really beautiful.
Brigitte the hostess was brilliant and had organised a fantastic dinner with live music and belly dancer!The courtyard was decorated with red rose petals and whole courtyard lit up with candles and tealights floating on the courtyard pond!
The breakfast and lunches were usually taken on the terrace which was brilliant as the weather was perfect(20 C) in Dec-not bad at all.The staff were just fantastic as nothing was too much trouble and with 14 of us ordering drinks or snacks at anytime was not a problem especially climbing 3 flights of stairs!!
I woul definitely return as its almost home from home - the service tops any 5 star hotel!
It was about 20 min walk to the main square but worth the walk through the souks and exploring the little alleyways.
Marrakech is a brilliant place with very friendly people,very safe and our celebration was made all the more special by Brigitte and her staff!
Nimi

  • Liked — the peacefulness and calmess when you enter
  • Disliked — lots of stairs to the roof terrace and no natural lights in rooms!
  • Tips/Secrets — book the suites
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2006

I stayed one week in Marrakesh. After the seccond day i got a cold due to an tourist wich refused himself to use a handkerchief in the airplane. That's why i really belong to those "longtime" guests at Riad el Ouarda... i stayed 5 days in my hotelbed and decided to book a seccond room for my girlfriend in order to not infect her with that nasty virus. For my suprise they didn't charged me the seccond room, because they felt so sorry about my cold, wow!!! I simply love this riad: the stuff where so nice to us, organized medicine for me, booked restaurants for us, helped us with good advices about galleries and so one. It's not that sort of commercial kindness you find in 5star hotels, they realy are nice people. Brigitte is a great host. This place got a home for me. The riad is very authentic, a wonderful peace of art without any modern kitsch that you tipically find in many tourist places. The ancient paintings at the walls are realy old, you feel like Sultan in the 5 meter high rooms. The lack of a pool doesn't hurt, all the pools in the Medina are too small, even in the big houses. The bathrooms are equipped with wonderful big showers and bathtubs. The fireplaces in the rooms are made to be used and not only for decoration. In other words: you can cool down and heat up whenever you want. Furthermore they work with another hotel outside the town with a real big pool where you can make a spa day. The food is exellent. As a frequend traveller i really recommend this place. Is it expencive? Well, nothing in Marrakech is cheap (apart from the taxis) and Riad el Ouarda lays in the upper midrange. In comparison to other houses i found the price ok. A litle pearl inside the medina.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

I´ve just arrived from a 3 day trip to Marrakech.
I´d booked 3 nights in Riad El Ouarda, but after a problem with our flight we only stayed 2.
I phone them the same evening I was supposed to arrive and they said it was OK.
Once you arrive they give you a map and tell you what to see in Marrakech, they offered us a mint tea, wich we refused, and gently they gave us a bottle of water.
Tha Riad is in the Medina, a bit far from the main sites, what makes it more authentic, and its no problem because if it´s too hot you always can catch a taxi, they are very cheap.
The room was big and nice. It had 2 levels, with the bathroom an a hall dowstairs and the bedroom upstairs, It also has a little place to stay outside in a patio near the access and the stair to go up to the terrace or down to the patio.
The breakfast was really good, consists of orange juice, fruit, bread and cakes, marmelade, butter and coffee or tea. It is served in the terrace.
You can have dinner there too (we didn´t) but we asked for a mint tea and they served it there one evening...A GREAT THING TO DO, you´ll have peace and the sound of birds, views of the mosque...
They helped us lot and made some phone calls to book a table in some restaurants and to the airport because we had lost some luggage.
We left our room after having breakfast and they offered us to keep our luggage and also to retun anytime we want to have some rest or take a shower. We finally did and stay in the afternoon resting in the patio near the pool.
We were surprised that they only charged us the price of the 2 nights stay.
I know it´s quite expensive to pay 120E for a night in Marrakech, and I´m sure you can find a good riad cheaper near the sites, but I think riad el ouarda worths it, I´ve had a wonderfull time ang got what I was looking for, charm, authencity and a magnificent service.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2006

We have just returned from 4 days at Riad El Ouarda. This place is a fantastic retreat from the town and the ambiance is old, elegant and very restful. Superb food all the time and very nice staff. If you are looking for a short break/long weekend, and don't mind paying a bit more, this is a beautiful riad to stay in. Fantastic roof terrace too. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad el Ouarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad el Ouarda

Address: 5 Derb Taht Sour Lakbir | Quartier Zaouia El Abassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #706 of 1,125 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia so you can book your Riad el Ouarda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad el Ouarda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.