We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and serene” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad el Ouarda

Save Saved
You added Riad el Ouarda to your Saves list
Riad el Ouarda
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad el Ouarda
5 Derb Taht Sour Lakbir | Quartier Zaouia El Abassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #696 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful and serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our family of 5 just returned from 5 days at Riad el Ouarda and were welcomed with excellence at every level ! The rooms are spacious and immaculate. The decoration was tasteful, modern and comfortable preserving all the antique charm of the architecture. We had meals served on the terrace and in the garden and the quality of the meals and the service were both superior. The location is north of the frenetic souks in the medina near the Bab Taghzout. We were happily driven around and accompanied by Adil, the hotel manager when we wanted and became fast friends. He and the staff are a treasure, discreet and helpful. Our stay in Marrakech was delightful and largely due to the experience of living in this delightful riad. Choukran et à bientôt inch`Allah !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We only came upon Riad El Ouarda by chance, but the establishment was the making of our five days in Marrakesh. The entrance is hidden away next to the Zaouia el Abbasia mosque at the frenetic north end of the walled city. But through the anonymous grey door and you are on another planet of calm, quiet and beauty. The riad was built in the late seventeenth century, predating Georgian and Queen Anne architecture. But the lay-out is timeless : three floors of loggia looking over a flowing pool, decorated with bouganvillia and alive with little birds. Open to the sky above so that the entire building is bright yet cool. And a furnished roof for early morning and evening, for breakfast of fresh fruit and warm pastry, for an evening meal of tagine, couscous and local wine. The rooms are magnificent, well over 20 feet high, plainly decorated except for the ceilings which are covered in coloured motifs and arabesques. The service matches the building, quietly perfect, organised by Adeel, the manager, and his team. They are there to assist with anything you wish. Adeel took us a long journey out of town to source candles not found in the souk, and he arranged two mornings of study for me, to discuss Morocco, Arab politics and history with an expert.
The only mild problem is that the riad is a little out of the way. But Fana'a square is no more than 15 minutes distance on foot and the entrance to the souk is closer. Or Adeel will arrange a taxi for any longer trip with average fares of around $2.50 for most destinations in the city.
El Ouarda, and drinks in the Churchill bar of the Hotel Mamounia were by far the best part of our stay. paul@paulgrieve.com

Room Tip: All are equally good, but the second floor is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

I still can't get over the feeling I experienced crossing the threshold from the hot street outside to the tranquility inside the Riad el Ouarda. The general manager, Adil, met us a distance away where we were dropped off and we immediately felt welcome in Marrakech, hotels across the world could learn a lot from Adil and his staff at the Riad - nothing was too much effort for them.
I found the accommodation, service, meals, hospitality and general atmosphere to be way above extraordinary. I was relaxed and comfortable throughout my week-long stay there. Adil was helpful to the extreme, never interfering but always ready and willing to advise and he put us in touch with the most incredibe guide who took us around the city.
From the Riad we went on a five-day desert excursion and then back to Marrakech for a few days. Unfortunately the Riad was closed for renovations when we were back in Marrakesh so we had to stay elsewhere.
The only downside of having stayed at Riad el Ouarda was that I compared every other hotel to this experience and none of them came even close.
I would highly recommend the Riad el Ouarda to anybody wanting to stay in Marrakech. I will go back and I certainly wouldn't stay anywhere else in that magical city.
Lynne Larsen [--] lynne@ideco.co.za

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

We returned from Marrakech last night where we spent our honeymoon for 5 nights (I know you're thinking why is he on his lap top when he has just been on honeymoon!).

The riad absolutely made the trip for us. We both adored Marrakech but you can only really appreciate the manic beauty of the city when you have an opportunity to retreat from it. In terms of the riad itself, it is stunning. All the beautiful, authentic features that you expect of Morocco and a wonderfully serene atmosphere. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and there are loads of other places to relax such as the pool, the side rooms with chess, etc and the great roof terrace.

However, as with all accommodation, it is made or broken by the staff. They made us feel truly welcome and comfortable and were genuinely friendly. They provide incredible food, keep the riad spotless and give priceless advice on how best to get about, how much to tip, etc.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

We just got back from Marrakech last night and spent all four nights at Riad El Ouarda. We really enjoyed our stay. The most striking thing about the riad is the terrace which is a great place to have breakfast. It's huge and there are plenty of nook and crannies so you can find a secluded corner to relax in. The mini suite we stayed in was perfect (Aman I think it was called) it had a nice huge bath and a shower head for quicker bathing. The riad is located near enough to town but is peaceful and quiet, we travelled to and from the central square by mini-taxi at 20Dh (£2 a journey) Although it was winter the riad wasn't cold at all as we used the air con in the evenings (and had a heater) to warm the room a little. Brigette, Muhammad and the stafff there were very friendly and helpful, they arranged some trips and taxis for us when we asked but most of the time left us to our own devices. It was the perfect place to stay. No complaints at all. Would highly recommend. We will be going back next time we are in Morocco.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

We had a great time staying at this riad. The service was excellent as was the home cooked food. Our room was lovely, but it did take some time to get used to the fact that it had no doors, only curtains!! Breakfast was served on the terrace and whenever you could order drinks to have up there too. Having dinner in the riad is a good too. They sorted out all our travel needs and organised taxis, days out when we wanted and at a reasonable cost. I would recomend this riad as it is slightly out of the main area, especially if you are looking to be in the centre but not so to speak. If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay but still have access to everything then this is the place for you!

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2007

I could never recommend this riad to anyone. Our family booked a suite at the riad for a stay of 5 nights. We left after 2! Travellers to Marrakech will find much better value elsewhere. The location is not great in the north east corner of the Medina. They put butane heaters in the rooms in the winter which make you feel sick. There was no stand up shower in our room. In general the furnishings do not reflect the rating of the riad at all. I think that on the basis of 'value for money' there are much better options. You will pay a 'luxury' price and get 3 star accommodation.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad el Ouarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad el Ouarda

Address: 5 Derb Taht Sour Lakbir | Quartier Zaouia El Abassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #696 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia so you can book your Riad el Ouarda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad el Ouarda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.