We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad-style hotel in quiet area of the old city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Les Jardins de la Medina to your Saves list
Les Jardins de la Medina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad-style hotel in quiet area of the old city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a boutique/luxury small hotel.
Good location - relief from the chaotic centre of the old city.
Breakfasts excellent, rooms spacious and spotless.
Lovely clean pool with ample sun-loungers - mostly shady though... there's a fab terrace (and some rooms have their own anyway) if you can't get a sunny one.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAbbott83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

This place is great - very attentive staff, nothing too much. Beautifully converted palace on the south side of town just inside the city wall so a fair walk to town but we went for it as it fitted our bill - getting away from it all with the city there for the occasional trip in for a meal or spot of shopping / sightseeing. Nice size (30 or so rooms); decent pool; lovely gardens; great breakfast; nice restaurant. Only slight disaapointment is £5 for a beer !!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshMcgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Les Jardins de la Medina is a quiet, elegant oasis in the melee of the Medina. The hotel is beautiful and elegant in a simple way. It is not flashy or ostentatious. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The gardens are lovely and well maintained.
The pool area is very nice. The pool isn't huge, but it's definitely large enough.
The breakfast buffet is delicious, as is all the food at the hotel.
The spa was very nice and the massages were good.
The hotel is theoretically walking distance to Jemma al F'na, but we didn't attempt it; partially due to the heat but mainly because it seemed as though it would be pretty hair-raising to accomplish with a child in tow, due to the traffic.
The hotel is very child-friendly, although it certainly wasn't overrun with children.
We plan to return!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We were booked into Les Jardins de la Medina by our travel agent. What a delight it turned out to be. Somehow we were put into a room with a private garden patio. It gave us a new dimension to our stay there. It was quiet and lovely. Our room was very clean and comfortable. A bit on the darker side of light but we found that to be true of all our stays in Morocco. The food in the restaurant was also very good and we ate all our dinners there. The entire staff was also quite helpful even though we spoke no French. We would definitely go back there if we return to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

The hotel is perfectly located in a quiet part of the Medina but within walking distance of the main attractions. On arrival we were warmly welcomed with a pot of mint tea and led to our room, which was sizeable, spotless and with adequate facilities, overlooking the beautifully maintained gardens. The whole ambience of this hotel is that of style and elegance in a very 'french shabby chic' kind of way, it is almost like a hidden gem within the chaos of Marrakesh - a very tranquil place. The food both at lunch time and evening was excellent and the mojito's are too ! We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Les Jardins de la Medina and are planning a return trip in 2011.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewFlavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nfs001
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

The unassuming facade and entrance door of this Kasbah is in surprising contrast to the lush gardens, stylish interior and luxurious rooms inside. The hotel is about 15 minutes walking away from the great square. There are no restaurants or other points of interest in the immediate vicinity, but all important sites are easily reached by taxi in 5 to 10 minutes. The garden in the hotel is truly wonderful, and it has been a special treat to wake up to the chirping of singing birds. The hustle and bustle of Marrakesh is cannot be heard inside the hotel and gardens - it is a perfect place to recover from sightseeing and to relax. The restaurant of the hotel is also very good. Our room was furnished tastefully, however I would have liked to have a bit more closet space.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nfs001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Once again I was grateful that research on trip advisor proved worthwhile. We stayed at Les Jardins for 6 nights with two teen boys and an 11 yr old over the Easter break. Although there the walk to Jemma El Fna is an obstacle course and sidestepping speeding motos, caleches and cars can be tiring the boys were tirelessly entertained by all they saw. I would recommend a taxi on your first day until you have adapted to Marrakeshi street life. The hotel itself was a gem...spotlessly clean. wonderful breakfasts and an excellent dinner there (once only for us as it is pretty expensive). We loved the sunbathing terraces overlooking the city with floaty muslin curtains and scatter cushions - all very decadent and appealing. The pool got quite busy around midday but the lush dense gardens give a sense of seclusion and privacy. We all used the mini gym and massage/beauty treatments (adequate - not brilliant). My husband and boys played tennis daily at the Royal Maroc tennis club too - ring the hotel in advance to book. The rooms were lovely - spacious and clean with beautiful tiling and luxorious argan oils to use. Crunchy starched cotton sheets and effective daily room cleaning. It felt very french with its eau de nil shutters and shaded terrace restaurant - until you woke to the sound of the tropical birds calling and noticed friendly tortoises (a great hit with my 11 yr old) bumbling around in the undergrowth. I particularly want to mention how the reception desk (staffed by ever helpful and charming personnel) sent out a porter at 11 pm to find antibiotic eye drops for my son. They arrived within half an hour and the problem was cleared up in24hrs. A lovely place - I was really sad to leave!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#163 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,489 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#77 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing