We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis within the Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Save Saved
You added Les Jardins de la Medina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Les Jardins de la Medina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #61 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An oasis within the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This Riad - Les Jardins de la Medina - is an oasis of beauty and tranquility within the Medina walls. A variety of bedrooms - ours with a small balcony and roof terrace was very comfortable and well appointed. The gardens are beautiful and there is also a pool for those wishing to swim or to soak up the sun. Food - lunch good but dinner was disappointing. Also the red wine was served at ice cold temperatures! This Riad is well placed - it is about a 15/20 minute walk to the souks and the main square - Jemaa-el-Fna Square. It was our second visit to this Riad and we would return as we are always optimistic!

Room Tip: All bedrooms face inwards over the beautiful gardens. We can only comment on our bedroom which had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    155
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
160
526
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Super hotel, attentive staff. Although it's "next door" to the souk, the hotel is quiet and ideally
situated for touring the souk on foot..
The hotel has a lovely heated sunny swimming pool set in a beautiful garden dotted about with mature trees.
Well appointed, warm bedrooms. TV has BBC ! and 2.

Log fires in the bar and restaurant at night. and a welcoming log fire in the restaurant for breakfast.
French and Moroccan cooking is good.
Small torch an asset as lighting in garden at night is dim.

Room Tip: Garden room or one on first floor. Although there is a lift, I think it is badly situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We discovered the Jardins de la Koutoubia via the internet and friends, reviews, as often on Trip Advisor were a mixed bag, although overall good, so we had to make up our own mind.
I would say it's a diamond in the rough. This former playground for the royals has the most amazing gardens. Some trees date back to the 19th century, so does the house, it's the first thing that strikes you once you pass the door from the buzzy and busy streets of the surrounding Medina.
IF you want a Medina experience and IF you can't afford some of those very pricey riads/guests houses(price=better???) that have grown by the million in the red city then go for this one. Manage your expectations, that's all. The food goes from simple to elaborate, no need to hunt for food in the neighborhood, from classic French, to Moroccan and Thai, all in the safe hands of a lady Chef. The drink list, ranging from soft, coffee and wines is of excellent value for money and at least you don't feel being piggy bagged like most tourist traps in this city, eg. Chassagne-Montrachet for a mere 68Euros or Petit Chablis for 45 Euros, Moroccan wines are also sold at a very decent price so you can have fun and explore. Great value for money overall.
Service is friendly and smart, the restaurant is charming, the views from the roof top terraces are great. The owners/hoteliers Michel and Luc are great hosts if you happen to meet them and they can tell you the History of the place and take great care of their guests and the property, keep it up. Long live les Jardins de la Medina. I told you...a diamond in the rough.

Room Tip: Ground floor for garden view, higher floor for the roof top sun terrace and view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I just spent one night at Jardins de la Medina. This little piece of heaven nestled in the old and charming medina of Marrakech is just a stunning property. Great lush gardens, beautiful pool and warm and professionnal staff. The rooms are spacious and some of them benefit from a nice solarium which is great to enjoy total privacy while sunbathing. I particurlaly loved the bathroom and its shower in dark tadelakt and also the beds that are extremly smooth and confortable. Food is also excellent. I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Absolutely sumptuous. beautifully styled and a fabulous service all round. Exquisite gardens around the pool and a fabulous roof terrace. An oasis of calm in the mad and dusty medina. Amazing breakfasts that mean you don't need lunch! However, this level of service and style come at a price, a coruscatingly expensive one! Worth the blow out though. lovely staff too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. We received a warm welcome on arrival and throughout our stay the service was friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. There is a peaceful ambience pervading every part of the hotel and it is very easy to feel completely at home. The food is fantastic too! We stayed for only four nights and were sorry that we did not have time to sample the beauty centre or the hammam. We found it very difficult to leave and we only managed to do so by promising ourselves a return visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We spent 4 wonderful days in this Riad - probably the most beautiful hotel we have stayed in. We stayed in a Solarium room which had a small balcony and - the best bit - a private solarium up a flight of stairs which catches the sun all day. Ideal at this time of year when the rest of the hotel is designed to cope with intense sunshine. The garden is really lovely with seating areas dotted about. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and ate 3 excellent meals in the evening. True the service can be a bit hap hazard - we saw a number of occasions when the waiter clearly didn't know who they were supposed to be bringing a plate of food to! But it was generally warm and friendly. The pool is heated - again a bonus at this time of year. The Riad is well south of the main square but we enjoyed the walk and the variety of interesting places to visit. This was our second trip to Marrakech and hopefully won't be our last.

Room Tip: Go for a solarium room and enjoy your own private sun lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#59 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de la Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.