We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but tres expensive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Les Jardins de la Medina to your Saves list
Les Jardins de la Medina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful but tres expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Absolutely sumptuous. beautifully styled and a fabulous service all round. Exquisite gardens around the pool and a fabulous roof terrace. An oasis of calm in the mad and dusty medina. Amazing breakfasts that mean you don't need lunch! However, this level of service and style come at a price, a coruscatingly expensive one! Worth the blow out though. lovely staff too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    159
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
168
548
31
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. We received a warm welcome on arrival and throughout our stay the service was friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. There is a peaceful ambience pervading every part of the hotel and it is very easy to feel completely at home. The food is fantastic too! We stayed for only four nights and were sorry that we did not have time to sample the beauty centre or the hammam. We found it very difficult to leave and we only managed to do so by promising ourselves a return visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We spent 4 wonderful days in this Riad - probably the most beautiful hotel we have stayed in. We stayed in a Solarium room which had a small balcony and - the best bit - a private solarium up a flight of stairs which catches the sun all day. Ideal at this time of year when the rest of the hotel is designed to cope with intense sunshine. The garden is really lovely with seating areas dotted about. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and ate 3 excellent meals in the evening. True the service can be a bit hap hazard - we saw a number of occasions when the waiter clearly didn't know who they were supposed to be bringing a plate of food to! But it was generally warm and friendly. The pool is heated - again a bonus at this time of year. The Riad is well south of the main square but we enjoyed the walk and the variety of interesting places to visit. This was our second trip to Marrakech and hopefully won't be our last.

Room Tip: Go for a solarium room and enjoy your own private sun lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful property in January. Due to the snow storm in Paris, we arrived very late in the evening and quite hungry. The staff made use feel so welcome and prepared a wonderful meal for us. We were the only ones in the restaurant and sat in front of the roaring fire on a crisp night. The food at the hotel was tremendous, the service five star, and a beautiful room, we booked a Sultane room. During the day we saw the sights, shopped and took in the beauty of Marrakech. We looked forward to going back to the hotel and relaxing in the peace and tranquility of this property. We did dine at other highly recommended restaurants, but the hotel restaurant was as good if not better than the best restaurants in Marrakech. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a hotel of great character and comfort, located in the Kasbah area. Situated on an unobtrusive street, the old wooden front door gives little clue as to the elegant and sophisticated establishment within. This hotel is really a great refuge (and antidote) to the hurley-burley and often full-on nature of Marrakech street life outside. The gardens filling the central courtyard are luxuriant. The dining room is large, with an antique atmosphere and with a background aroma of woodsmoke and spices. Meals are served with a sense of style & occasion by the atentive staff. My wife, son and I shared a well-appointed room for our stay, which was quite big enough for the double plus extra bed. The room was located off a small and intimate courtyard with table, chairs and bubbling fountain (turned off at night). TV channels included BBC (so you can compare the rotten British weather with that outside). Don't forget to try the comfy chairs and settees up on the roof terrace, listen to the doves, watch the storks flying overhead and enjoy views over to the Koutoubia Mosque tower on one side and the distant Atlas mountains on the other. Or the pool in hot weather. We didn't try it, but there is lots of pampering on offer (massage, spa treatments etc). If we decided to return to Marrakech, les Jardins de la Medina would be our first choice. You will hear the Muezzins' call (which adds to the atmosphere I guess), and rooms nearest the outside streets may pick up the occasional moped and voices out- of-hours (not many cars use the streets, which are too narrow for anything bigger than a people carrier). I should add that all the staff work constantly to keep this hotel on the top line, and are very courteous and helpful. English is spoken by the Reception staff and a little by the dining room staff, but French is the main European language spoken.

Room Tip: A room on the North side (towards the Kasbah Mosque) may be quieter, being away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay on a visit to Marrakech! An oasis of peace and calm away from all the rush and dust of the city, but the 20mins walk to the square is fascinating, it seemed safe and you see people selling their wares, we didn't feel we were hassled. On our arrival we had a very warm welcome, lovely mint tea and dried fruits sitting in the sun infront of the very beautiful garden and lots of onfo. My large room was on the ground floor, with a small sitting room, through an alcove, with a mini bar, a door to the bath & shower, basin and toilet area. Doors opened from the room onto a garden/paved area., looking towards some exercise machines and the pool. Room was always spotlessly clean, plenty of towels that seemed new, with rose petals strewn over them (every day)! V. comfy bed. Super rooftop terrace with loungers, a view of the Atlas mountains beyond. Buffet breakfast had fresh fruit and juice, meats, smoked salmon, bread, pastries, you could order an omelette. Relaxing with pre dinner drinks infront of the log fire, then delicious dinner. I had a couple of wonderful massages! So much more to rave about ... for me it was magical!! I was able to change English £s into Dirhams at the reception desk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ealing, London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed as a couple for 4 nights in February. We booked through the hotel in advance for taxi collection from the airport which ran like clockwork and was much appreciated. I also booked an Orange Blossom massage which was lovely. The reception staff were outstanding - nothing was too much for them. They helped with negotiating for taxis, booking restaurants and giving hints for the obligatory trip to the souks. The welcome tea and fruits were much appreciated as was the cocktail party on our final night which gave us a chance to talk to the other guests.

There are three types of room at this hotel: Superior, Solarium and Sultana. We had decided to splash out on a Sultana room which had a large private terrace (room 115). The only problem here was that it was in permanent shade. This is probably welcome in the summer months but in February we would have preferred more sunshine so, in hindsight, we should have booked a solarium room. We had one day of torrential rain and the terrace never dried out after that - in fact, my husband was sitting at the outside table one day when a torrent of water was thrown down from the suite above. In essence, we never managed to use the terrace preferring instead to either sit by the pool or on the top terrace to catch some much needed sunshine. The room came with a huge bathroom with robes and slippers and a nespresso machine with 6 complimentary coffees included and mini bar/frige. There were pastries and fruit waiting for us in the room, but these were never replenished during our stay and the same pastries were still there 4 days later. The complimentary daily water was much appreciated.

We ate in the restaurant on two occasions. The food was very good but the service here is a bit intermittent. On the first night we felt that the service was very rushed - no sooner had we finished our starter and the main course was there. In complete contrast to this, we had lunch one day and had to wait an hour between starter and main as the waiter had taken down our order wrongly and appeared with two plates of meat which was a problem as vegetarians. Breakfast was plentiful. Eggs as you choose to have them plus lots of fruit, yoghurt and breads. It really set us up for the day.

This hotel allows no residents to use the pool area for a fee. As only half of the poolside area is ever in sunshine it did mean that loungers were a bit limited for the guests. It would be an idea if residents were able to have complimentary usage of the Hamman as part of their stay. There is a small shop selling local items which was lovely and the smell of Orange Blossom hand wash is still in my mind.

There is a Hamman on site and a small 'spa'. The hamman we didn't use as the 200 dhs charge for this we felt was rather excessive considering you could only use it for 30 mins. The spa, which is situated on the top floor, consisted of a couple of massage rooms as far as I could make out but the massage I had was lovely. It would have been helpful to have the full list of treatments available prior to booking.

We had a lovely time. The hotel is great and all the little touches make it an outstanding place to stay. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: There are 3 types of room - Superior, Solarium and Sultan. We splashed out on a Sultan room (no.115...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de la Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.