We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Les Jardins de la Medina to your Saves list
Les Jardins de la Medina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Glos
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay on a visit to Marrakech! An oasis of peace and calm away from all the rush and dust of the city, but the 20mins walk to the square is fascinating, it seemed safe and you see people selling their wares, we didn't feel we were hassled. On our arrival we had a very warm welcome, lovely mint tea and dried fruits sitting in the sun infront of the very beautiful garden and lots of onfo. My large room was on the ground floor, with a small sitting room, through an alcove, with a mini bar, a door to the bath & shower, basin and toilet area. Doors opened from the room onto a garden/paved area., looking towards some exercise machines and the pool. Room was always spotlessly clean, plenty of towels that seemed new, with rose petals strewn over them (every day)! V. comfy bed. Super rooftop terrace with loungers, a view of the Atlas mountains beyond. Buffet breakfast had fresh fruit and juice, meats, smoked salmon, bread, pastries, you could order an omelette. Relaxing with pre dinner drinks infront of the log fire, then delicious dinner. I had a couple of wonderful massages! So much more to rave about ... for me it was magical!! I was able to change English £s into Dirhams at the reception desk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    159
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
168
547
31
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ealing, London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed as a couple for 4 nights in February. We booked through the hotel in advance for taxi collection from the airport which ran like clockwork and was much appreciated. I also booked an Orange Blossom massage which was lovely. The reception staff were outstanding - nothing was too much for them. They helped with negotiating for taxis, booking restaurants and giving hints for the obligatory trip to the souks. The welcome tea and fruits were much appreciated as was the cocktail party on our final night which gave us a chance to talk to the other guests.

There are three types of room at this hotel: Superior, Solarium and Sultana. We had decided to splash out on a Sultana room which had a large private terrace (room 115). The only problem here was that it was in permanent shade. This is probably welcome in the summer months but in February we would have preferred more sunshine so, in hindsight, we should have booked a solarium room. We had one day of torrential rain and the terrace never dried out after that - in fact, my husband was sitting at the outside table one day when a torrent of water was thrown down from the suite above. In essence, we never managed to use the terrace preferring instead to either sit by the pool or on the top terrace to catch some much needed sunshine. The room came with a huge bathroom with robes and slippers and a nespresso machine with 6 complimentary coffees included and mini bar/frige. There were pastries and fruit waiting for us in the room, but these were never replenished during our stay and the same pastries were still there 4 days later. The complimentary daily water was much appreciated.

We ate in the restaurant on two occasions. The food was very good but the service here is a bit intermittent. On the first night we felt that the service was very rushed - no sooner had we finished our starter and the main course was there. In complete contrast to this, we had lunch one day and had to wait an hour between starter and main as the waiter had taken down our order wrongly and appeared with two plates of meat which was a problem as vegetarians. Breakfast was plentiful. Eggs as you choose to have them plus lots of fruit, yoghurt and breads. It really set us up for the day.

This hotel allows no residents to use the pool area for a fee. As only half of the poolside area is ever in sunshine it did mean that loungers were a bit limited for the guests. It would be an idea if residents were able to have complimentary usage of the Hamman as part of their stay. There is a small shop selling local items which was lovely and the smell of Orange Blossom hand wash is still in my mind.

There is a Hamman on site and a small 'spa'. The hamman we didn't use as the 200 dhs charge for this we felt was rather excessive considering you could only use it for 30 mins. The spa, which is situated on the top floor, consisted of a couple of massage rooms as far as I could make out but the massage I had was lovely. It would have been helpful to have the full list of treatments available prior to booking.

We had a lovely time. The hotel is great and all the little touches make it an outstanding place to stay. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: There are 3 types of room - Superior, Solarium and Sultan. We splashed out on a Sultan room (no.115...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights recently – check in was smooth and we were provided with extensive information about the hotel. From the moment we stepped into the hotel I felt relaxed. We were greeted with mint tea and a tower of dried fruits consisting of dates, apricots and sultanas which was a lovely touch whilst our bags were transported to the room. The hotel is small and intimate and true to form of a riad has a beautiful garden inside the walls of the hotel which is instantly relaxing – inclusive of baby turtles roaming freely that are said to bring good luck.

Now for the room – it was sensational. There seemed to be such awesome attention paid to detail. A wood fire if you wish, n-espresso coffee maker, roses, fruits platters and complimentary bottles of water refreshed daily.
Then there is the bed – super comfortable!!! I fell in love with this bed - I could have spent all day there.

Some negatives:
The fitness centre was outside and almost non-existent so if you are keen to work out during your stay – bring a work out DVD (as we did) or have a plan up your sleeve.

Day spa was not so hot – my husband and I had a couples massage and unfortunately it was the worst massage I have ever had and paid for. My masseuse was getting directions from my husband’s masseuse whilst I was having my massage.

Restaurant service was also questionable. The food was of excellent quality and delicious however it was let down by the hap hazard service from staff. Plates at breakfast were never cleared away – I watched other guests putting plates on the seats next to them as they had no room on their table left as staff walked merrily by not aware that this is something that should be attended too.

We went to the restaurant for dinner once and the service was slow and clunky. At the end of the night we would have been interested in the dessert menu which was not offered, we did order coffee but after the protracted time that it took to get it we were exhausted. The restaurant was not busy and there were adequate amounts of staff so there should have been no excuses at all for the poor service.

The staff members seemed as though they were trying hard – busily running around the place but were not effective with what they were trying to achieve – they need more training.

There also was a severe lack of service by the pool. We spent 2 full Marrakech winter-sun filled days by the pool and each time we would have to try desperately to get the attention of the staff to make an order for food or drinks. This needs to be addressed as it is a let-down for an otherwise really great stay.

We had a great time in Marrakech – we spent a lot of time in the riad as it was lovely overall but needs some work for it to be exceptional.

Room Tip: Dont bother with the day spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scherpenheuvel, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

In January 2013 we have spent our citytrip at Les Jardins de la Medina. We stayed for 5 days. Our room was large and spacious. A seperate bathroom and toilet. A terrace. A fire place.
We enjoyed our stay very much. Staff was very friendly. Especially the cooking lessons are very good and nice too :) We have spent a lot of time at the hotel because of the good facilities such as heated swimming pool, sun terrace on the roof, cooking lessons, hammam and very nice lunch and dinners. We will certainly go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My daughter and I spent 4 days in Marrakech, in January and could not have asked for a more beautiful setting. We had a lovely, spacious room ( very comfy beds) on the second floor with a large bathroom and sitting area, they even have dvd collection so that you can watch a movie in your room.
The grounds are beautiful and even though you are close to the hustle and bustle of the medina and souks once you enter the grounds you feel like you are in your own secret garden.
The food as well was delicious the breakfast buffet had a great selection, and we ate twice in the restaurant for dinner which was top notch.
The spa services( we had facials and massages) where a welcome treat after a full day of walking.
I would recommend without hesitation. Shelley

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
botley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our four night stay we were " upgraded " to a beautiful room on the second floor two eighty year old grandmas treated with charm and respect by the staff ! we thought the food was excellent too We would certainly go again Jenny E

Room Tip: second floor rooms seem lighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oppegard, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed in Les jardin de la Medina for one week in January for my husband's birthday. The staff and atmosphere were very nice. Good service and helpful for everything that we asked for. They have a very good restaurant too. At the beginning we planned to try different restaurant in marrakech . But we found out from the first dinner that we already have the best in the town. At the end we decided to have all our 7 dinners in our hotel . We are owner of restaurant in norway so we know what Is Good food mean.They served amazing food and the service was excellent. Specially on my husband birthday, they prepared the soft cake which my husband used to have for his birthday in norway. The servers even came over with the cake and sang the birthday song for him in front of our table. We will definitely coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de la Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.