We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Old Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Les Jardins de la Medina to your Saves list
Les Jardins de la Medina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful little hotel at the south end of the Kasbah, close to the Royal Palace and Saadian Tombs. The rooms are tastefully decorated, very clean and comfotable. The bar, restaurant and heated pool are great places to eat, drink, relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of the old town after those long days out exploring. The food is very good- expect to pay about £35pp for three courses including wine. Though there are good inexpensive alternatives nearby, such as the Kasbah Cafe which is only a 5 minute walk away. Overall, this hotel is excellent, the staff very friendly, along with service to match. Only minor negative is the location, which is on the outskirts of the old town and many of the attractions, however if you don't mind walking then this shouldn't be a concern. It's about a 15 minute walk to the main square or a £1.50 taxi ride. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly783
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
182 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The higher end riads of Marrakech are all wonderful. If you are looking to be IN the action, get lost in the old town, etc, stay in a nice raid. This is one of the nicer ones. My only complaint is that on occasion, a sewage smell wafted thru the resort. Hard to know where it came from. But it was a little gross, but hard to know whether to blame the hotel or not in this region.

In the heat of the summer, the pool wasn't very deep so it wasn't very COOL. Was kinda hard to cool off when the pool was 96 degrees.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmedFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We couldn't have been more impressed with Les Jardins de la Medina - absolutely beautiful hotel, great location, beautiful gardens, heated swimming pool, and the staff were above and beyond fantastic. I can't recommend the hotel highly enough! Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We visited for 4 days last week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a lovely room (No.120) which was spacious with a lovely terrace. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The roof terrace is beautiful and it was lovely to relax on the sofas especially as the weather during our stay was glorious. The grounds are very well maintained and it certainly did feel like paradise once inside the door, with the lush green foliage and birds singing in the trees. Although it is a good 20 minute walk to the souks, it is a fairly straightforward and interesting journey. If we visit Marrakech again we will definitely return here and will recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We had room 120 which was very spacious with a good sized terrace with table and parasol overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port d'Andratx, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel last week, upon arrival we were greeted with a tea and some dates and apricots in the little outside area. I think the only way for me to give this Hotel a good review is by doing a pros and cons list as there were so many good but also bad things.,
The good things are that the rooms are very clean (cleaned 2 a day), staff is f riendly and helpful and the roof terrace is great with amazing views.
The bad things unfortunately theres a lot more, service from the bar is very slow, one night we actually waited 25 mins for a cocktail with only one order before ours. The coktails are quite expensive compared to other places and a pack of crisps is 5 Euros, the bar doesnt have a big selection also when sat in the bar area in the winter time its quite smoky due to the open fire and on top people smoking inside it stings your eyes if youre not used to it.
Breakfast is not too bad even though dont come too early it says from 7:00 - 10:30 but we came at 7:30 and they were still decorating tables bringing food out and rearanging everything, the worse thing was as it was quite cold the gas heaters were only turned on when people started arriving so it wasalways very cold at breakfast and the who we thought might be the morning manager as he was always round breakfast in a suit was even worse because everytime he arrived he started moving tables, chairs just making a lot of noise in general which wasnt very nice when your trying to enjoy breakfast. Also scrambled egg was always cold but you can order an omlette if wanted at least thats hot. Selection of fresh fruit was good. The dinner in the Hotel was okay but overrated in my eyes, we had dinner in so many other places for less money and better quality, but I guess it depends on everyones taste.
If you like sleeping dont stay in 128 its directly over the kitchen and laundry room and gets very noisy from 6 am, which is why my mum had to change rooms. I was in 133, the room had no little terrace in fact i couldnt even open my windows because my privacy would have been invaded and when my neighbours came in at 2am the walls are that thin that i thought they were in my room, I could hear everything also when i was in the bathroom I could hear everything that happened on the roofterrace including conversations. Allthough the bed was okay, I couldnt sleep due to noise from everywhere like doors closing, (not one hotel door in this facility closes quietly) , the street, the roof terrace, my neighbours etc. After the room change my mum moved to 130, which was nice but very damp and cold, the heater in bathroom was behind a cupboard so it didnt heat at all and there was a lot of mold which I will include pictures of. Tv was very small but you dont need a tv on holiday, it had 2 english channels and one german all the other were french. Also big problem i had was the way to my room was not covered so I got wet everytime I had to walk to my room, but at least there was umbrellas in the room.
The Pool area and garden area is a big plus for this Hotel also the roof terrace, all in all I think this Hotel has a lot of potential but just needs some more TLC in general.
In my eyes its not a Rhiad, its a Hotel and at the moment it doesnt deserve the valuation it has, not due too staff but because of facilities and little things, it just seems that the staff are trying everything but there seems to be a manager missing that makes sure things are going like they should. One day while in the bar having a drink, we got asked to move tables 3 times because they were doing maintenace work, now Im a paying guest and want some peace and quiet but all I heard most afternoons was drilling etc. Would I stay again, probably not, I think there is better places in Marrakech for better value. Again its not the staff but everything else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TanjaParkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent our honeymoon here at the end of November 2012 and cannot recommend this riad highly enough. Admittedly this was our first trip to Marrakech so have little to compare it too but from the moment we arrived the Jardins de la medina felt like the perfect place to stay. All staff were attentive and friendly throughout our stay, welcoming us with a drink in the bar and a tour of the gardens while our room was prepared with candles and rose petals (they even serviced the room twice a day). We had a double superior room on the ground floor which was a good size, had a large shower/wet room and comfortable lounge space with 14"tv (the sultan rooms have larger tvs). It also opened onto a small private outside seating area which was shaded but pleasant (the solarium rooms all seem to have private 3rd floor outdoor spaces to catch the sun). The communal roof terrace though has 5 sun beds and lots of other seating giving awsome views of the mountains and the city. The location was good with the main square and other attractions within 10-15 mins walk (depending how many people stop you on the way!). The entire complex seems much larger than other riads in this district with substantial gardens and a good sized heated pool. The restaurant is superb although being veggie we were limited to tagines and pasta, the location is handy for other nearby restaurants though (try the kasbah cafe down the road for a cheaper alternative menu). In summary this is a beautiful place to stay and were we to return to Marrakech we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcd77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Superb all round. Excellent, caring service from pick up at airport right through our stay. Lovely bar with log fire for the winter nights, and good restaurant. Good spa treatments, reasonably priced. My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay and I intend returning with my other daughter in Spring!

Room Tip: All rooms are good quality. Ours were on ground floor opening on to gardens and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rblvjenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#161 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,084 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#78 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing