We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out in style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Les Jardins de la Medina to your Saves list
Les Jardins de la Medina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #51 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Chill out in style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

As many other travelers have commented I was slightly worried when our taxi pulled up in what appeared to be a dead end street and announced that we had arrived at the Jardins De La Medina. As with much of Marrakech the building's exterior gives few clues as to what lies beyond but we needn't have worried. The interior of the Riad is stunning and a welcome relief from the hussle and bussle that is Marrakech. Everything about the hotel has an air of peace and calm that I have never felt in any other hotel I have ever stayed in. You are made to feel very welcome right from the very first moment you step foot inside and are served your first traditional Moroccan mint tea.

We stayed in a mid-range 'Superior' room which consisted of private bathroom with shower/bath combo, separate lounge area, huge (and very comfortable) king sized bed, aircon/ceiling fan, minibar fridge (useful for storing your own 'contraband' drinks), robes and slippers, in room mini safe (free to use), flat screen TV with DVD player and private outdoor patio area with table and chairs. The room itself was well decorated with a nice balance between modern contemporary furnishings and a traditional Moroccan feel. Not that we watched it much but the only TV channel in English was BBC World News so you may want to make use of the free DVD rental service from reception (or for the techies out there you may want to take your own movies as the DVD player has a DivX compatible USB port). Another tip is that if you are trying desperately to save on luggage weight (thank you Ryanair!) then I'm reliably informed that, unlike some, the in-room hairdryer is more than suitable for the job.

During our 7 day stay at the end of Aug we encountered only a handful of other guests around the hotel (nationalities ranged from French, UK, German and American). This was perhaps due to the timing of the Ramadan religious festival which ended a few days into our stay. While the local Muslims observe the traditional Ramadan fasting ritual this was barely noticeable once inside the hotel itself with food and drink being available to guests all day as normal. The hotel restaurant serves a mixture of Moroccan and International dishes for both lunch and evening meals. Every meal we had was delicious and the waiter service was excellent. My only negative would be that as with most restaurants in Marrakech prices were much higher for food and drink than expected (we averaged about £40-£50 a night for 2 courses and alcoholic drinks for 2 people with mains £15-£20 and beer/wine £4-£5 a glass).

Having been suitably fed and watered your next priority is to choose from the many different parts of the hotel on offer for you to relax in. The hotel has a roof terrace with tables/chairs, single and double loungers and a partially shaded area with arabian-esque floor cushions and sofa (great place to hide from the mid day sun and read one of the many books donated by other guests from the small library in the bar). Also on the roof is a small gym, the cookery school and a completely shaded patio area overlooking the bar and pool area. The pool itself is a great place to spend the day with ample loungers both in and out of the sun. Complimentary towels are provided which the staff are very quick to replace on vacated beds once other guests have moved on. There are also the beautiful gardens from which the hotel draws its name. As well as being home to some of the more permanent guests (namely a family of tortoises) hidden in the trees and pathways which criss-cross the garden courtyard are additional secluded beds, loungers and tables should you feel like some privacy away from the pool. The hotel also offers a spa with various relaxation and massage treatments. This was perhaps one of the more disappointing elements of our stay with my girlfriend being left slightly underwhelmed with a Hammam and Henna wrap treatment which basically involved a very quick wash from one of the spa attendants and then 20 minutes alone in the steam room. You may wish to venture further afield to one of the dedicated spa's dotted around town if you are looking for a better value and a more indulgent treatment.

Last but not least the staff at the hotel are also worthy of great praise. Forever attentive without being overbearing they really made you feel at home and always welcomed you with a smile. The team on reception were always very approachable and happy to provide local information and phone for taxi's or recommend and/or make restaurant reservations whenever requested. The restaurant, bar and maid staff were also excellent and constantly surprised us be it with little cakes each evening delivered to the room with the next days weather report or cold face towels and complimentary fruit kebabs served around the pool each day (it's the little things like that which really do make your stay).

My only other comment on the hotel is that its location in the most southern district of the Old Town may be a bit far out of the way for some. A walk to the main square (next to the Koutoubia mosque) will take a good 25 mins and may be a bit intimidating for some due to the confusing narrow streets and cars/bikes/horses/mopeds which fight for space with the pedestrian foot traffic. The alternative is of course a £3-£4 (or cheaper depending on your haggling skills) taxi ride each way. One last tip is that you may want to try and arrange an each way airport transfer either privately or direct with the hotel as we were ripped off to the tune of 300Dh for the 10 minute "big" taxi ride to the hotel which we organised ourselves and only paid 135Dh for the return journey which was organised by the hotel (TIP : big taxi = mercedes = expensive, small taxi = hatchback = cheap).

Overall I would highly recommend the Jardins De La Medina. It really is a great place to chill out and is ideally suited to couples looking to relax with a local 'Casablanca' beer after a hard day haggling in the Medina.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    176
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
191
620
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I have rarely enjoyed a stay at any hotel more. The setting was unusual in that from the street it gives very little hint of the exceptional hotel behind the entry door. The gardens within were like a small oasis with delightful small private areas to sit and enjoy the calm atmosphere. The meals were such that we chose to eat most of our meals at the hotel and the service was excellent . The accommodation was also very good and had free wireless internet within the hotel grounds. Fresh fruits were in our room on arrival. I liked the loose rose petals strewn around and the small cake bouchees left after the evening turn down.
We felt quite safe when out walking but were accosted a few times by "friends" who wished to show us shopping etc. But most were polite and left you alone if asked to.
I am sure that we will return as the heat was was a dry heat and not overpowering.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at the Jardins de la Medina and loved it. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel very welcomed. Our room (Described in their brochure as “Superior”) was comfortable, air-conditioned, had a seating area and a French door that opened onto a small patio.

Everyone was always very helpful and friendly and spoke French and English. Without exception whether they were looking after us at reception, porters, housekeepers or waiters they were always friendly, attentive and informative. We often spoke with Youssef, Hakim and Amin who were exemplars of excellent service in reception but it would be unfair to single out anyone more than another.

Food was always excellent with a very good choice of fare for the outdoor buffet breakfast and a delicious evening menu that was well prepared and presented. It’s a good place to chill out in the heat of the day with a pool forming the central feature of the Riad. Plants and trees provide ample shade and there is a spacious sun deck on the roof for sun worshipers.

The Jardins de la Medina is very well located and although the narrow streets of the Kasbah and Medina are fascinating in themselves you will want to venture further into the city. The Riad is within easy and safe walking distance of the main attractions of Marrakesh e.g. 10 minutes to the Saadian Tombs; 15 minutes to the Badi Palace; 25 minutes at a steady pace to the Koutoubia Mosque, the famous Jemaa El Fna and the adjoining souks. The Majorelle Gardens are best reached by Petit Taxi and you’ll find no shortage of them just about everywhere but agree the price before setting off e.g. a one way journey to The Majorelle Gardens will set you back about 40 Dirhams (approx. £3.20).

The Jardins de la Medina enabled us to take on Marrakesh at its own crazy pace and when we’d had enough we could just walk through the big door of the riad and relax within its cool calm interior. I’m confident that this riad will always be our choice when staying in Marrakesh, Insha’Alah.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

What a beautiful hotel!
We arrived and walked through the beautiful citrus courtyard surrounding the pool, towards our room, and were in love with the hotel immediately. A haven away from the hustle and bustle from the outside medina and busy streets, this hotel is a paradise in the middle of Marrakesh's busy streets, dust and heat!
The courtyard, pool and outside lounge is quiet, peaceful, tranquil, relaxing, and very beautiful to look at.... plus the service was exceptional - the staff were incredible and were so attentive, friendly, smiling and always willing to help. Breakfast was fantastic, and the rooms were spacious, plush and clean.
Definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Marrakech - great for couples, not so great for kids... but it had a great vibe - music by the pool, and relaxing atmosphere, lanterns and gardens, great rooms, lovely ambience - a definite must stay!!!
Thankyou everyone for making our stay in Marrakech heavenly!!! We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: probably better to get rooms on the bottom floor to enjoy the patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Fantastic accommodation and setting and lovely, helpful staff. This was a delightful 'oasis' in the heat and bustle of Marrakesh.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Understated from the outside, behind the walls sits an oasis from the craziness of Marrakech. We have traveled extensively and this stands out both in terms of comfort and service. The front desk was extremely helpful in arranging transportation and providing guidance. The small touches were what really got us- complimentary sorbet by the pool in the afternoon and an attendant coming around to clean our sunglasses.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed 7 nights here and found the accommodation and staff excellent amd have no qualms recommending Les Jardins to any Marrakesh visitor. The pool is amazing and the staff bring round cold hand towels and treats at least twice a day. We really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#165 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
#74 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#5 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#65 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de la Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.