We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, friendly, attentive staff; very good facilities cuisine and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Save Saved
You added Les Jardins de la Medina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Les Jardins de la Medina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Tour tickets
Ranked #57 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Welcoming, friendly, attentive staff; very good facilities cuisine and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at the Jardins de la Medina and loved it. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel very welcomed. Our room (Described in their brochure as “Superior”) was comfortable, air-conditioned, had a seating area and a French door that opened onto a small patio.

Everyone was always very helpful and friendly and spoke French and English. Without exception whether they were looking after us at reception, porters, housekeepers or waiters they were always friendly, attentive and informative. We often spoke with Youssef, Hakim and Amin who were exemplars of excellent service in reception but it would be unfair to single out anyone more than another.

Food was always excellent with a very good choice of fare for the outdoor buffet breakfast and a delicious evening menu that was well prepared and presented. It’s a good place to chill out in the heat of the day with a pool forming the central feature of the Riad. Plants and trees provide ample shade and there is a spacious sun deck on the roof for sun worshipers.

The Jardins de la Medina is very well located and although the narrow streets of the Kasbah and Medina are fascinating in themselves you will want to venture further into the city. The Riad is within easy and safe walking distance of the main attractions of Marrakesh e.g. 10 minutes to the Saadian Tombs; 15 minutes to the Badi Palace; 25 minutes at a steady pace to the Koutoubia Mosque, the famous Jemaa El Fna and the adjoining souks. The Majorelle Gardens are best reached by Petit Taxi and you’ll find no shortage of them just about everywhere but agree the price before setting off e.g. a one way journey to The Majorelle Gardens will set you back about 40 Dirhams (approx. £3.20).

The Jardins de la Medina enabled us to take on Marrakesh at its own crazy pace and when we’d had enough we could just walk through the big door of the riad and relax within its cool calm interior. I’m confident that this riad will always be our choice when staying in Marrakesh, Insha’Alah.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    647
    141
    21
    9
    9
See reviews for
137
468
29
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melb, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

What a beautiful hotel!
We arrived and walked through the beautiful citrus courtyard surrounding the pool, towards our room, and were in love with the hotel immediately. A haven away from the hustle and bustle from the outside medina and busy streets, this hotel is a paradise in the middle of Marrakesh's busy streets, dust and heat!
The courtyard, pool and outside lounge is quiet, peaceful, tranquil, relaxing, and very beautiful to look at.... plus the service was exceptional - the staff were incredible and were so attentive, friendly, smiling and always willing to help. Breakfast was fantastic, and the rooms were spacious, plush and clean.
Definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Marrakech - great for couples, not so great for kids... but it had a great vibe - music by the pool, and relaxing atmosphere, lanterns and gardens, great rooms, lovely ambience - a definite must stay!!!
Thankyou everyone for making our stay in Marrakech heavenly!!! We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: probably better to get rooms on the bottom floor to enjoy the patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Fantastic accommodation and setting and lovely, helpful staff. This was a delightful 'oasis' in the heat and bustle of Marrakesh.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011 via mobile

Understated from the outside, behind the walls sits an oasis from the craziness of Marrakech. We have traveled extensively and this stands out both in terms of comfort and service. The front desk was extremely helpful in arranging transportation and providing guidance. The small touches were what really got us- complimentary sorbet by the pool in the afternoon and an attendant coming around to clean our sunglasses.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed 7 nights here and found the accommodation and staff excellent amd have no qualms recommending Les Jardins to any Marrakesh visitor. The pool is amazing and the staff bring round cold hand towels and treats at least twice a day. We really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Amazing hotel with charm and character, something the newly refurbished Mamounia completely lacks!

Disregard any comments which say the hotel is too far from the central square. It is no more than 15mins walk.

Overall thoroughly recommended, although I would definitely advise using the safe. We had approx £50 in local currency taken from pockets on the first morning we were there. The safe did not work on arrival so not much we could have done. Avoid the issue by making sure the safe provided in the room works and use it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon. I do not regret staying at this beautiful place. Rooms were lovely though some were nicer than others but even these were of great quality. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Pool is amazing and set in gorgeous lush gardens. Only negative thing about this is the price of food in the restaurant. Very nice food and very nice restaurant but will quickly clear your purse.
We loved it and plan on returning again in the future.

Room Tip: Solarium rooms very private but the sun was too hot at this time of year to actually make use of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina
Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de la Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.