We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Escape in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Save Saved
You added Les Jardins de la Medina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Les Jardins de la Medina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #68 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

The place and staff were wonderful. It was a perfect place to escape. The resort is beautiful with gardens, a pool and balconies from the rooms. The medina outside is busy and hectic and the hotel is an oasis of quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet (included with the room) was fantastic. The garden is full of birds and one of my favorite things about the stay was to wake up to the sound of birds outside. There were only 2 downsides: it was a little far from the Square Djemaa el Fna (10 minute walk) and the fitness center had limited equipment (but made up for by its outdoor location overlooking the gardens of the hotel and the city skyline). The hotel is right near the gardens of the palace so a good place to go running. I would go back without hesitation and can strongly recommend this hotel to other travelers. It was a fantastic stay which exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    700
    155
    21
    9
    10
See reviews for
153
504
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Once you go through the wooden door you enter a haven of peace and good service. Cannot fault the staff at all and they were very helpful with everything we asked. It does take at least half an hour to get to your room having a welcome drink and a tour of the facilities.

We ordered a Privilege room , which had a private outside area with table chairs and loungers. Comfortable bed but small bathroom that was more ancient than old. I am fussy and for the price I would have appreciated a more up to date bathroom with a proper shower. This did not affect our visit at all and I became rather settled with the old fashioned atmosphere. Our daughter had a Superior room, this was large and had a proper shower over the bath.

The restaurant is very good for both lunch and dinner. Breakfast has a lot of variety although too much sweet items for my taste. One eats outside and this is where the breakfast buffet is also set up. It seems a losing battle not to share the buffet with the local birds and bugs ! One day they did put the buffet indoors but I think this was to make room for all the guests staying.

The pool area is lovely and the pool is very inviting and clean.

The hotel is a very slow relaxed twenty minute walk from the main square. If it is too hot then a taxi can always be ordered and is very very cheap even if you do pay more as a tourist. Good recommended Restaurants seemed expensive for what they offered so worthwhile to ask the hotel or do some homework before you go out.

If you like TV this is not for you although BBC World might tell you if the world comes to an end. Free WiFi was available both in the rooms and by the pool and worked very well.

We enjoyed our few days immensely and would go again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This hotel was more than we expected. The gardens and grounds were luxurious and private. Street noise and local children playing were a constant buzz, but manageable. Our room was in the corner and very private. We were fortunate enough to be on the side of the grounds to not hear the 5 calls to prayer everyday, including the 5am one! When we walked in off the extreme hustle and bustle of the streets it was like another world. Stress went from a 9 to a 2 within seconds. The staff, while extremely curtious and attentive, was still a little lacking. An example... we had the front desk order a taxi for us for dinner. We asked him how much we should expect to pay (locals pay a different price) and he told us "usually 30 dirham, but probably 40d for the distance of the restaurant, never more than 50d". When we walked out the door to get in the taxi, we were asked for 60d. While in dollars, this only amounts to about 50 cents, it was none the less repeatedly irritating. The restaurant we went to was at the front desks recommdation. We picked an 8pm time, he made the reservation for us, but didn't tell us they don't sit people until 9pm. So the hostess looked at us funny for being so early then she sat us at the bar for an hour, and then forgot we were there. They also assured us that an excursion we scheduled took credit cards, only to be told at our 5.20am pick-up that that was not the case. We used almost all our cash on hand, $512.00, to go anyway. That piece of information would have certainly been helpful! The beds are hard, but the rooms are very clean. The tv only gets BBC. We never saw housekeeping, because they were in and out in a short anount of time, usually while we were at breakfast. Dining in the restaurant was enjoyable. My husband couldn't get enough of the Tanjine chicken and ordered it all three times we ate dinner there. It was good! I varied my order each time, and was never totally satisfied with earth shattering delicious meals, They were "fine". The pool was great, but cold. Most of the lounge charis are in the shade, but a nice spot to wile away the afternoon. The rooftop terraces are awesome. The hotel is over all extremely relaxing, beautiful, and located in a great spot, just a 20 minute slow paced walk to the main square. We would stay here again easily.

Room Tip: upgrade to one with a courtyard/outdoor sitting
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

last minute thought after cooking a Tagine for friends on the Friday of the Bank Holiday - too close to the computer before bed & booked a trip to Marrakesh as a surprise @ 0130!!!. Woke the wife to tell her, flew on Saturday pm, a bit of a rush. Flight Ryan Air from Bristol, no problems, you get what you pay for and it jingled with early landing both ways. Ryad [Hotel] is a must, right in the Kasbah, behind the closed door, the beauty awaits. Excellent staff, extremely clean, with all facilities. Rooms are individual in four grades, Privilege down to Comfort. They are well presented and of a fine local style. Restaurant is well run, food very well presented with a very pleasant patio area for food and bar. The pool is surrounded by lush vegetation and when in fruit should be something, Jasmine smells wonderful in the evening. As this was unplanned, we had to return on the Tuesday, but will be back - there is just too much to see and do [no time to try the hotel cookery course]. If for dinner in the main square, Jemma-el-Fna, only a short safe walk away, try out La Boheme a newly furnished venture, at a side road to the square, which has sound menu and a wide view of the whole square - best time dusk
Many thanks to the friendly staff, as I said we will be back

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

This is a truly beautiful hotel with excellent service and extremely friendly staff. It is an oasis of beauty and tranquility in the middle of the busy Kasbah. From the outside it is almost impossible to guess that such a lovely place exists behind that small door.
Our room was excellent, with a door opening to the garden. A lot of attention is paid to detail, and everything is in very good taste. It was also very romantic (my husband and I celebrated our 3rd wedding anniversary there), rose petals in the bathroom room, a fresh rose everyday, candles…
The restaurant is very good, the spa facilities too. The pool is lovely, everything is extremely clean. I cannot praise this hotel too highly. We will certainly be back, and are already recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Go through the unimposing door in the busy street and enter into the peace and quiet of the hotel reception. Continue on and enter the oasis that is the gardens (les jardin) a cool and pleasant place filled with birdsong. This is the prefect place to stay in Marrakech. Good service and excellent food are a feature. we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

The hotel is situated behind a non-descript brown door, on going in you enter a world of quality service ,wonderful gardens making it a very memorable stay.It is located in the medina & its position captures the vibrance of the city;.We felt quite safe out walking.
We thought the Mellah area was far more interesting than Jemma El Fna with the shopkeepers appearing to be less "pushy".The only negative to this review concerns the breakfasts.Some of the food is left uncovered & is too tempting to the birds who drop in for a free meal!






A it isl ocated in the medina seserene peace tranquility .with first-class service hiding all its charms

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Free internet...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#183 of 461 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
#44 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Luxury, Romanti...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#85 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center, Lu...
Show More
5.1 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
#63 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Pool, City Cent...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#34 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#31 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Medina

Address: Derb Chtouka, 21 | Kasbah de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de la Medina 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Les Jardins de la Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Medina Hotel Marrakech
Jardins De La Medina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de la Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.