We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be much better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Les Jardins de La Koutoubia to your Saves list
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good but could be much better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed here for a week with my partner to explore Marrakech and surrounding areas. Overall we had a great stay at the Jardins de la Koutoubia but there is so much room for improvement it left us a little disappointed:

The pros:

- The location is great - 2 minutes walk to the main square and all the action
- We were upgraded to a suite on check-in though we'd only booked the cheapest room, which was a nice surprise
- We were prepared to request a 'twin' rather than double room if asked at reception (2 guys travelling in a Muslim country) however no eyebrows raised and no questions asked and we were given a room with king size bed
- The room itself was very spacious with everything you need
- Staff at the piano bar were friendly and helpful, as were the staff at the indian restaurant (the food and drinks at both were great)

The cons:

- Staff were generally unfriendly at the pool-side snack-bar and the breakfast restaurant. In particular, asking for eggs was scarier than trying to negotiate a price for a snake charmer photo in the square
- We witnessed a bird drinking out of the orange juice jug (in fact it was inside the jug) and also eating fruit salad from the breakfast buffet - no staff around to do anything about it
- When I went to confirm my return transfer to the airport the staff couldn't find any record (despite my having a printed email confirming it). They happily booked another transfer though. The next day when we checked out we were ushered into a normal taxi?!
- Room needs attention to detail - shower bracket was loose and falling off, drain was blocked and drained very very slowly, air-conditioning was of the 'mild' variety
- Prepare for plenty of French tourists who love smoking everywhere in and around the hotel which they are allowed to do - there is no concept of a 'non-smoking' zone around the pool or anywhere.

Oh, and prepare yourself to be rudely awoken by the Call to Prayer from the plethora of nearby mosques; all part of the Moroccan experience!

Room Tip: Room 77 was very private - would request that if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    265
    83
    34
    25
See reviews for
134
469
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights to experience Marrakech before moving onto an all inclusive hotel for a week. If we had known how good and relaxing the hotel was we would have stayed for the entire trip.
The hotels location to experience Marrakech is perfect with a 2 minute walk to the square and Souks.
The hotel is not perfect and the building is untidy in places and when we arrived a waterfall was running into reception from somewhere above but this was soon sorted out.The relaxing nature when you walk into the courtyard with the pool in the centre is lovely and makes for many a good photo.
Our room was nice and the rose petals sprinkled on the bed and in the bathroom is a nice touch.
We enjoyed lunch on 2 occasions but were slightly disappointed with the Moroccon restaurant for dinner as you got a more realistic experience at a better price out in the square.
Sitting outside in the evening with a beer and free bowls of nuts and olives finished the days off perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I'd heard lots of good things about this hotel, but felt that the hype didn't match the experience.

The friendliness of the check-in frequently defines the experience, and the staff behind the front desk seemed unwilling or unable to welcome anyone in a genuine and friendly manner. The rooms were nice, but thick and worn red carpets throughout the rooms, and in the corridors, gave the impression of a hotel that had seen better times. It felt as though the management were desperate to save money, as our corridor was pitch black, until you managed to trigger a light sensor that would illuminate the part of the corridor you were walking in. Walking out of your room and into the corridor at night was light walking down the darkest alleyways in the souk.

The staff in the piano bar were really attentive and friendly, and the highlight of the stay, but the piano player made a bad choice in attempting to play over an electro / synth style backing track - it was like Les Dawson versus the Pet Shop Boys. When we returned for a nightcap, Les was still playing on the piano so we sat outside. The staff in the International Restaurant made us wait 10 minutes on the premise that they were preparing a table for us, that in fact was already available, and when were eventually seated we were asked whether we were English or French. The waiter handed us 3 menus, said these are in French and left swiftly leaving us to figure it out ourselves, even though badly translated English menus were available. The chef's signature dish, was sliced steak, drowning in his signature sauce, and topped with chips. Rather like the best looking dish in a motorway cafe in the 1980's but not 5 star dining. Over breakfast, (and under the fabric umbrellas covered with bird poo and general muck) one of the waiters asked whether one of the female members in our party whether she would like tea or coffee. She replied tea, and he walked over to his colleagues, gestured to my female friend, and said tea tea very quickly, which met with much laughter. I expected better than adolescent behaviour from waiting staff in a 5 star hotel.

The swimming pools are great, and the hotel is in a superb location, but this hotel would benefit from a manager who has the time to look at every aspect of this hotel in detail. The 3 clocks above reception are supposed to show the times in different zones, but the fact that Europe is 2 hours and 10 minutes in-front of Marrakech and somewhere else is so many hours and 5 minutes behind, reflect the lack of attention to detail that pervades this hotel.

I asked the hotel to arrange a taxi to the airport, and the price was agreed before 100 dhs. When I arrived at the airport, I gave the driver 120 dhs to include a tip. He looked at the money in my hand, and said it's ok , but this big taxi, you pay more, 150dhs. Avoiding being ripped off in Marrakech should be an Olympic sport, and I was hoping that getting a 5 star hotel to arrange the transfer would prevent this type of situation. Not so.

Undoubtedly great in its time, but desperately behind the times now in so many ways. My advice - avoid, and stay somewhere else instead, until they've addressed some of their issues.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are nice, especially if you have a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have just returned from a weekend staying at the above hotel. We flew easy jet early morning flight from gatwick and by 10 am arrived at the hotel. We took breakfast whilst waiting to check in. Nothing was too much trouble, the pr lady was fantastic. She gave us a guided tour of the hotel and we were upgraded to a junior suite which was fantastic !
The rooms were clean, lovely touches such as petals everywhere, robes, slippers etc. only downside to the room was that there was no kettle.
The pool area was beautiful, lovely sun beds albeit in short supply. Hotel could defiantly do with adding more on the grass area. The poolside restaurant was nice, only criticism would be could do with more snacks for the pool area as you don't always want a full meal at lunchtime.
We ate in the Asian restaurant on the first night which was disappointing. The location was great, but to be honest I didn't rate the food.
We had treatments in the spa which was very nice and they have a huge indoor pool and relaxing area. I would recommend the massage.
All in all I would thoroughly recommend the hotel, it's staff, location and cleanliness. I will definitely
Be returning....

Room Tip: I like the ground suites in the new part. You def want one of these or a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riemst, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Only positive comments on this hotel: close to the main city square, everyone in the hotel is very friendly, food is really good, rooms are nice! If you want to book a city tour or day trip, the people at the reception will offer to help you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel is right off the main square and the entrance is very unimpressive, however once you go inside it is a beautiful oasis. The pool area is tranquil and has pool side service. We had a junior suite overlooking the gardens and it was as nice as a Four Seasons. There were beautiful bathrobes, fresh fruit, and roses every day. The breakfast buffet was extensive and ha several hot selections. Highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

It's amazing what you can feel in this hotel right next to the djemaa el-fna plaza.
Very good suite and a nice breakfast. The swimming pool on the roof top its amazing.
I highly recommend this hotel, not only for its quality but also for the location.

Also... try out the 'Relais the Paris' restaurant.

Room Tip: that suite right next to the 'Relais the Paris' restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Jardins de La Koutoubia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de La Koutoubia

Address: 26 Rue de la Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#117 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Jardins de La Koutoubia 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Les Jardins de La Koutoubia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Koutoubia Hotel Marrakech
Jardins Koutoubia Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de La Koutoubia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.